



131st MAINE LEGISLATURE

FIRST REGULAR SESSION-2023

Legislative Document

No. 476

H.P. 293

House of Representatives, February 7, 2023

An Act to Amend the Law Regarding Court Locations

Submitted by the Judicial Department pursuant to Joint Rule 204. Reference to the Committee on Judiciary suggested and ordered printed.

R(+ B. Hunt

ROBERT B. HUNT Clerk

Presented by Representative MORIARTY of Cumberland.

1 Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

Sec. 1. 4 MRSA §153, sub-§3, as amended by PL 1995, c. 330, §1, is further
 amended to read:

3. Western Aroostook. Western Aroostook consists of the municipalities and unorganized territory known as Hamlin Plt., Cyr Plt., T17 R3, T17 R4, T16 R5, T15 R6, Winterville Plt., T15 R8, T15 R9, T14 R10, T14 R11, T14 R12, T14 R13, T14 R14, T14 R15, T14 R16, and all municipalities and unorganized territory in Aroostook County lying to the west and north of these. The District Court for Western Aroostook must be held at Madawaska and Fort Kent. The Chief Judge shall determine the level of service at each location in the Western Aroostook division.

11 Sec. 2. 4 MRSA §154, sub-§1, as amended by PL 1965, c. 228, §2, is further 12 amended to read:

First District. The first district consists of the divisions of Eastern Aroostook
 (Caribou) and Western Aroostook (Madawaska, Fort Kent and Van Buren).

- 15 SUMMARY
 16 This bill removes the requirement that the District Court for the Western Aroostook
 17 division must be held at Madawaska and Fort Kent. It also removes references to Caribou,
 18 Madawaska, Fort Kent and Van Buren in the law specifying the divisions constituting the
- 19 First District.