MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from electronic originals (may include minor formatting differences from printed original)



130th MAINE LEGISLATURE

SECOND REGULAR SESSION-2022

Legislative Document

No. 1832

S.P. 649

In Senate, December 22, 2021

An Act To Correct the Year of the Expiration of the Terms of 2 County Commissioners in Sagadahoc County

(AFTER DEADLINE)

(EMERGENCY)

Approved for introduction by a majority of the Legislative Council pursuant to Joint Rule 205.

Received by the Secretary of the Senate on December 20, 2021. Referred to the Committee on State and Local Government pursuant to Joint Rule 308.2 and ordered printed.

DAREK M. GRANT Secretary of the Senate

Presented by Senator BALDACCI of Penobscot. Cosponsored by Senator: DIAMOND of Cumberland.

1 2	Emergency preamble. Whereas, acts and resolves of the Legislature do not become effective until 90 days after adjournment unless enacted as emergencies; and
3 4	Whereas, Public Law 2021, chapter 488 enacted the plan for reapportionment of the county commissioner districts as proposed by the apportionment commission; and
5 6 7	Whereas, the plan erroneously reversed the year of the expiration of the terms of the county commissioners of Commissioner District 2 and Commissioner District 3 in Sagadahoc County; and
8 9	Whereas, since one of the terms expires in 2022, this error needs to be corrected as soon as possible; and
10 11 12 13	Whereas, in the judgment of the Legislature, these facts create an emergency within the meaning of the Constitution of Maine and require the following legislation as immediately necessary for the preservation of the public peace, health and safety; now, therefore,
14	Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:
15	Sec. 1. 30-A MRSA §66-C is enacted to read:
16	§66-C. Creation of Sagadahoc County Commissioner Districts
17	Sagadahoc County is divided into the following 3 districts.
18 19 20	1. Commissioner District Number 1. Commissioner District Number 1 consists of the minor civil divisions of Bowdoin and Topsham. The term of office of the commissioner from this district expires in 2024 and every 4 years thereafter.
21 22 23	2. Commissioner District Number 2. Commissioner District Number 2 consists of the minor civil divisions of Bath and Bowdoinham. The term of office of the commissioner from this district expires in 2022 and every 4 years thereafter.
24 25 26 27	3. Commissioner District Number 3. Commissioner District Number 3 consists of the minor civil divisions and unorganized territories of Arrowsic, Georgetown, Perkins Township, Phippsburg, Richmond, West Bath and Woolwich. The term of office of the commissioner from this district expires in 2024 and every 4 years thereafter.
28 29	Emergency clause. In view of the emergency cited in the preamble, this legislation takes effect when approved.
30	SUMMARY
31 32	This bill corrects the expiration year of the terms of the commissioners in Sagadahoc County Commissioner Districts 2 and 3.