# MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from electronic originals (may include minor formatting differences from printed original)



## 130th MAINE LEGISLATURE

## **SECOND SPECIAL SESSION-2021**

**Legislative Document** 

No. 1739

H.P. 1305

House of Representatives, September 29, 2021

An Act To Reapportion Maine's Congressional Districts

Reported by Representative DUNPHY of Old Town for the apportionment commission pursuant to the Constitution of Maine, Article IX, Section 24.

ROBERT B. HUNT Clerk

R(+ B. Hunt

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

- Sec. 1. 21-A MRSA §1205, as amended by PL 2011, c. 466, §1, is repealed.
- Sec. 2. Apportionment of congressional districts; legislative intent. The State is divided into 2 districts for the election of Representatives to the United States Congress, with one Representative elected from each of the districts established in Part II of the unanimous plan submitted by the apportionment commission to the Clerk of the House and the Secretary of the Senate on September 27, 2021. Notwithstanding the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 21-A, the Legislature intends by the passage of this Act to implement the plan establishing the congressional districts and to make the apportionment as described in Appendix A of this Act for elections beginning in 2022.
- Sec. 3. Codification of congressional districts. The Revisor of Statutes shall submit a bill to the Second Regular Session of the 130th Legislature codifying in the Maine Revised Statutes the congressional districts established in Part II of the unanimous plan submitted by the apportionment commission to the Clerk of the House and the Secretary of the Senate on September 27, 2021.
- **Sec. 4. Application.** This Act applies to the election of Representatives to the United States Congress first occurring in 2022 and thereafter.

18 SUMMARY

This bill repeals the current statute establishing the congressional districts and establishes the districts for the election of Representatives to the United States Congress, beginning with elections occurring in 2022 and thereafter, as described in Part II of the unanimous plan submitted by the apportionment commission to the Clerk of the House and the Secretary of the Senate. This bill also requires the Revisor of Statutes to submit a bill to the Second Regular Session of the 130th Legislature codifying the plan.

#### APPENDIX A

HON, DONALD ALEXANDER, CHAIR SEN, TROY JACKSON SEN, NATHAN LIBBY SEN, PAUL DAVIS

SEN. RICHARD BENNETT REP. MICHELLE DUNPHY

REP. ANNE PERRY REP. MICHAEL BRENNAN



REP. WAYNE PARRY
REP. THEODORE KRYZAK
REP. JOSHUA MORRIS
HON. JOSH TARDY
BEV UHLENHAKE
HON. MATT MOONEN
JOE TURCOTTE

# STATE OF MAINE ONE HUNDRED AND THIRTIETH LEGISLATURE APPORTIONMENT COMMISSION

September 27, 2021

The Honorable Robert Hunt Clerk of the House The Honorable Darek Grant Secretary of the Senate 130<sup>th</sup> Maine State Legislature 2 State House Station Augusta, Maine 04333

Dear Clerk Hunt and Secretary Grant

As constituted pursuant to Article IV, Pt. 3, § 1 of the Maine Constitution, the 2021 Apportionment Commission is pleased to submit to the Maine House of Representatives and the Maine Senate its apportionment proposal pursuant to Joint Order H.P. 4 of the 130<sup>th</sup> Legislature.

The plans for apportionment of the Maine House of Representatives, the Maine Senate, the Maine County Commissioner districts, and Maine's U.S. Congressional districts were each approved by the affirmative votes of all Commission members. The attached report includes detailed descriptions of each of these plans.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank the Commission members and the staff members and consultants of both party caucuses for their thorough and collegial work on these unified proposals.

Sincerely,

Donald G. Alexander

Donald G. Alexander

Chairman

Cc: Apportionment Commission

### APPENDIX A

The Commission recommends that the Congressional Districts be as follows:

### 1. First District. Population 681,179.

The First District consists of the counties of Cumberland, Knox, Lincoln, Sagadahoc and York and the following municipalities and areas within Kennebec County: Albion, Benton, China, Clinton, Litchfield, Pittston, Unity Twp, Vassalboro, Waterville, West Gardiner, Windsor, Winslow.

### 2. Second District. Population 681,180.

The Second District consists of the counties of Androscoggin, Aroostook, Franklin, Hancock, Oxford, Penobscot, Piscataquis, Somerset, Waldo and Washington and the following municipalities and areas within Kennebec County: Augusta, Belgrade, Chelsea, Farmingdale, Fayette, Gardiner, Hallowell, Manchester, Monmouth, Mount Vernon, Oakland, Randolph, Readfield, Rome, Sidney, Vienna, Wayne, Winthrop.