MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from electronic originals (may include minor formatting differences from printed original)



130th MAINE LEGISLATURE

FIRST REGULAR SESSION-2021

Legislative Document

No. 513

H.P. 376

House of Representatives, February 19, 2021

An Act Regarding the Membership of the Board of Trustees of the Maine Criminal Justice Academy and Its Complaint Review Committee

Received by the Clerk of the House on February 17, 2021. Referred to the Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety pursuant to Joint Rule 308.2 and ordered printed pursuant to Joint Rule 401.

ROBERT B. HUNT

R(+ B. Hunt

Clerk

Presented by Representative RECKITT of South Portland. Cosponsored by Senator DESCHAMBAULT of York and Representatives: MORALES of South Portland, PLUECKER of Warren, WARREN of Hallowell.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

1

2

3

4

5

6

7 8

9

10

11

12 13

14

15 16

17

18 19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28 29

30 31

33

34 35

36 37

38

39

40

Sec. 1. 25 MRSA §2802, first ¶, as amended by PL 2019, c. 103, \S 1, is further amended to read:

There is created a board of trustees for the academy consisting of 48 19 members as follows: the Commissioner of Public Safety, ex officio, the Attorney General, ex officio, the Game Warden Colonel in the Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife, ex officio, the Commissioner of Corrections, ex officio, the Chief of the State Police, ex officio, and the following to be appointed by the Governor: a county sheriff, a chief of a municipal police department, 2 officers of municipal police departments who are not police chiefs, an educator who is not and has never been a sworn member of a law enforcement agency, a criminal prosecutor from one of the offices of the District Attorney, a representative of a federal law enforcement agency, 3 citizens each of whom is not and has never been a sworn member of a law enforcement agency, a municipal official who is not and has never been a sworn member of a law enforcement agency, a county commissioner who is not and has never been a sworn member of a law enforcement agency, one nonsupervisory corrections officer representing a state or county correctional facility and one person knowledgeable about public safety who has been recommended to the Governor by the Wabanaki tribal governments of the Aroostook Band of Micmacs, the Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians, the Passamaquoddy Tribe at Motahkmikuk, the Passamaquoddy Tribe at Sipayik and the Penobscot Nation. The member appointed by the Governor based on the recommendation of the Wabanaki tribal governments must be recommended by the tribal governments by a process determined by those governments that provides for the board membership to rotate among the tribal governments.

- **Sec. 2. 25 MRSA §2805-C, sub-§1,** as amended by PL 2013, c. 147, §37, is further amended to read:
- 1. Committee. The chair of the board shall appoint 3.5 members of the board to serve on the complaint review committee. One Two of the members must be one of the citizen members of the board. All A majority of the members of the committee, including at least one citizen member, must be present for deliberations. A majority vote is necessary to recommend taking corrective or disciplinary action on a complaint or to order an independent investigation pursuant to subsection 3.

32 SUMMARY

This bill expands the membership of the board of trustees of the Maine Criminal Justice Academy from 18 to 19 by adding a county commissioner who is not and has never been a sworn member of a law enforcement agency. The bill also expands the total membership of the board's complaint review committee from 3 to 5 and the number of members who are citizens who have not and never have been sworn members of a law enforcement agency from one to 2. The bill further allows deliberations when a majority of the members of the committee, including at least one citizen member, is present instead of requiring that all members be present.