# MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from electronic originals (may include minor formatting differences from printed original)



### One Hundred and Twenty-Eighth Legislature First Regular Session

### Advance Journal and Calendar

#### 21st Legislative Day

In Senate Chamber, Thursday, March 16, 2017.

Senate called to Order by President Michael D. Thibodeau of Waldo County.

Prayer by Reverend Sara Gavit, Saint Anne's Episcopal Church in Calais.

Pledge of Allegiance led by Senator Brownie Carson of Cumberland County.

Reading of the Journal of Tuesday, March 14, 2017.

Doctor of the day, Kiran Mangalam, D.O. of Brunswick.

Michael D. Thibodeau
Senate President

**Heather J.R. Priest** *Secretary of the Senate* 

http://legislature.maine.gov/senate

(4-6) Hunter Knowlton, of Lewiston, a member of Royal Rangers Outpost No. 16, who has received the Gold Medal of Achievement, the highest award in the Royal Rangers. We extend our congratulations to him on this achievement;

**SLS 126** 

Sponsored by Senator MASON of Androscoggin.

Cosponsored by Senator: LIBBY of Androscoggin, Representatives: BROOKS of Lewiston, FULLER of Lewiston, GOLDEN of Lewiston, HANDY of Lewiston.

\_\_\_\_

#### **Joint Resolution**

(4-7) On motion by Senator **BREEN** of Cumberland (Cosponsored by Speaker GIDEON of Freeport and Senators: BELLOWS of Kennebec, BRAKEY of Androscoggin, CARPENTER of Aroostook, CARSON of Cumberland, CHENETTE of York, CHIPMAN of Cumberland, COLLINS of York, CUSHING of Penobscot, CYRWAY of Kennebec, DAVIS of Piscataguis, DESCHAMBAULT of York, DIAMOND of Cumberland, DILL of Penobscot, DION of Cumberland, DOW of Lincoln, GRATWICK of Penobscot, HAMPER of Oxford, HILL of York, JACKSON of Aroostook, KATZ of Kennebec, KEIM of Oxford, LANGLEY of Hancock, LIBBY of Androscoggin, MAKER of Washington, MASON of Androscoggin, MILLETT of Cumberland, MIRAMANT of Knox, ROSEN of Hancock, SAVIELLO of Franklin, President THIBODEAU of Waldo, VITELLI of Sagadahoc, VOLK of Cumberland, WHITTEMORE of Somerset, WOODSOME of York, Representatives: ACKLEY of Monmouth, ALLEY of Beals, AUSTIN of Skowhegan, AUSTIN of Gray, BABBIDGE of Kennebunk, BAILEY of Saco, BATES of Westbrook, BATTLE of South Portland, BEAR of the Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians, BEEBE-CENTER of Rockland, BERRY of Bowdoinham, BICKFORD of Auburn, BLACK of Wilton, BLUME of York, BRADSTREET of Vassalboro, BROOKS of Lewiston, BRYANT of Windham, CAMPBELL of Orrington, CARDONE of Bangor, CASÁS of Rockport, CEBRA of Naples, CHACE of Durham, CHAPMAN of Brooksville, COLLINGS of Portland, COOPER of Yarmouth, COREY of Windham, CRAIG of Brewer, DANA of the Passamaquoddy Tribe, DAUGHTRY of Brunswick, DeCHANT of Bath, DENNO of Cumberland, DEVIN of Newcastle, DILLINGHAM of Oxford, DOORE of Augusta, DUCHESNE of Hudson, DUNPHY of Old Town, ESPLING of New Gloucester, FARNSWORTH of Portland, FARRIN of Norridgewock, FAY of Raymond, FECTEAU of Biddeford, FOLEY of Wells, FREDETTE of Newport, FREY of Bangor, FULLER of Lewiston, GATTINE of Westbrook, GERRISH of Lebanon, GILLWAY of Searsport, GINZLER of Bridgton, GOLDEN of Lewiston, GRANT of Gardiner, GRIGNON of Athens, GROHMAN of Biddeford, GUERIN of Glenburn, HAGGAN of Hampden, HAMANN of South Portland, HANDY of Lewiston, HANINGTON of Lincoln, HANLEY of Pittston, HARLOW of Portland, HARRINGTON of Sanford, HARVELL of Farmington, HEAD of Bethel, HERBIG of Belfast, HERRICK of Paris, HICKMAN of Winthrop, HIGGINS of Dover-Foxcroft, HILLIARD of Belgrade, HOGAN of Old Orchard Beach, HUBBELL of Bar Harbor, HYMANSON of York, JOHANSEN of Monticello, JORGENSEN of Portland, KINNEY of Limington, KINNEY of Knox, KORNFIELD of Bangor, KUMIEGA of Deer Isle, LAWRENCE of South Berwick, LOCKMAN of Amherst, LONGSTAFF of Waterville, LUCHINI of Ellsworth, LYFORD of Eddington, MADIGAN of Waterville, MADIGAN of Rumford, MALABY of Hancock, MAREAN of Hollis, MARTIN of Eagle Lake, MARTIN of Sinclair, MASON of Lisbon, MASTRACCIO of Sanford, McCREA of Fort Fairfield, McCREIGHT of Harpswell,

McELWEE of Caribou, McLEAN of Gorham, MELARAGNO of Auburn, MONAGHAN of Cape Elizabeth, MOONEN of Portland, NADEAU of Winslow, O'CONNOR of Berwick, O'NEIL of Saco, ORDWAY of Standish, PARKER of South Berwick, PARRY of Arundel, PERKINS of Oakland, PERRY of Calais, PICCHIOTTI of Fairfield, PICKETT of Dixfield, PIERCE of Dresden, PIERCE of Falmouth, POULIOT of Augusta, PRESCOTT of Waterboro, RECKITT of South Portland, REED of Carmel, RILEY of Jay, RYKERSON of Kittery, SAMPSON of Alfred, SANBORN of Portland, SCHNECK of Bangor, SEAVEY of Kennebunkport, SHEATS of Auburn, SHERMAN of Hodgdon, SIMMONS of Waldoboro, SIROCKI of Scarborough, SKOLFIELD of Weld, SPEAR of South Thomaston, STANLEY of Medway, STEARNS of Guilford, STETKIS of Canaan, STEWART of Presque Isle, STROM of Pittsfield, SYLVESTER of Portland, TALBOT ROSS of Portland, TEPLER of Topsham, TERRY of Gorham, THERIAULT of China, TIMBERLAKE of Turner, TIPPING of Orono, TUCKER of Brunswick, TUELL of East Machias, TURNER of Burlington, VACHON of Scarborough, WADSWORTH of Hiram, WALLACE of Dexter, WARD of Dedham, WARREN of Hallowell, WHITE of Washburn, WINSOR of Norway, WOOD of Greene, ZEIGLER of Montville), the following Joint Resolution:

S.P. 349

#### STATE OF MAINE 128<sup>TH</sup> MAINE LEGISLATURE

# JOINT RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING MARCH 8, 2017 AS INTERNATIONAL WOMEN'S DAY

WHEREAS, International Women's Day has been celebrated since 1911; and

WHEREAS, Maine women have contributed greatly to the State's, the country's and the world's history, including Frances Perkins, the first woman appointed to the United States Cabinet; Margaret Chase Smith, the first woman to serve in both the United States House of Representatives and the United States Senate; Olympia Snowe, the first woman to serve in both chambers at both the state and federal levels; Edna St. Vincent Millay, a Pulitzer Prize-winning poet; Cornelia "Fly Rod" Crosby, the first registered Maine guide; Samantha Smith, an international peace advocate; Gail Laughlin, the first woman in Maine to practice law; Dorothea Dix, a nurse and advocate for the mentally ill; Frannie Peabody, an HIV/AIDS activist; Judith Isaacson, a Holocaust survivor and educator; Mary Low, one of the first American women to receive a Bachelor of Arts degree; Elizabeth Russell, a ground-breaking geneticist; Mabel Wadsworth, a birth control activist and women's health educator; and Florence Whitehouse, a suffragist, activist and novelist; and

WHEREAS, a record 24.8% of the 7,383 seats in the 99 state legislative chambers in the United States are currently held by women, including 34.41% of the seats in the Maine Legislature; and

**WHEREAS,** Maine is one of only 6 states with a woman serving as Speaker of the House; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED:** That We, the Members of the One Hundred and Twenty-eighth Legislature now assembled in the First Regular Session, on behalf of the people we represent, take this opportunity to recognize the contributions of Maine women throughout our history and recognize the ongoing march toward gender equality, both in Maine and around the world, and we designate March 8, 2017 as International Women's Day.