



One Hundred and Twenty-Eighth Legislature First Regular Session

Advance Journal and Calendar

15th Legislative Day

In Senate Chamber, Thursday, February 16, 2017.

Senate called to Order by President Michael D. Thibodeau of Waldo County.

Prayer by Senator Paul T. Davis Sr. of Piscataquis.

Pledge of Allegiance led by Senator Andre E. Cushing, III of Penobscot County.

Reading of the Journal of Tuesday, February 14, 2017.

Doctor of the day, Patrick Keaney, M.D. of Yarmouth.

Michael D. Thibodeau Senate President Heather J.R. Priest Secretary of the Senate

http://legislature.maine.gov/senate

Printed on recycled paper

ORDERS

Joint Orders

(4-1) On motion by Senator **JACKSON** of Aroostook, the following Joint Order: S.P. 210

STATE OF MAINE 128TH MAINE LEGISLATURE

ORDERED, the House concurring, that, notwithstanding Joint Rule 353, the Task Force To Address the Opioid Crisis in the State, referred to in this order as "the task force," is established as follows.

1. Appointment; composition. The task force consists of members appointed as follows:

A. Four members of the Senate, appointed by the President of the Senate, including 2 members of the party holding the largest and 2 members of the party holding the 2nd-largest number of seats in the Senate;

B. Four members of the House of Representatives, appointed by the Speaker of the House, including 2 members of the party holding the largest and 2 members of the party holding the 2nd-largest number of seats in the House of Representatives;

C. One member who is an administrator at a hospital in the State, appointed by the President of the Senate;

D. One member representing the interests of law enforcement, appointed by the President of the Senate;

E. One member representing the interests of providers of services at opioid treatment facilities, appointed by the President of the Senate;

F. One member representing a statewide association of physicians in the State, appointed by the President of the Senate;

G. One member who is recovering from opioid addiction, appointed by the Speaker of the House;

H. One member representing the interests of providers of substance abuse and recovery services, appointed by the Speaker of the House;

I. One member who is a physician specializing in addiction treatment, appointed by the Speaker of the House; and

J. One member who is a behavioral health specialist, appointed by the Speaker of the House.

The President of the Senate and the Speaker of the House shall invite to participate as members of the task force the Governor, or the Governor's designee; the Attorney General, or the Attorney General's designee; and a representative of the judicial branch.

2. Chairs. The first-named Senator is the Senate chair of the task force and the first-named member of the House of Representatives is the House chair of the task force.

3. Appointments; convening. All appointments must be made no later than 30 days following passage of this order. The appointing authorities shall notify the Executive Director of the Legislative Council once all appointments have been made. When the appointment of all members has been completed, the chairs of the task force shall call and convene the first meeting of the task force. If 30 days or more after the passage of this order a majority of but not all appointments have been made, the chairs may request authority and the Legislative Council may grant authority for the task force to meet and conduct its business.

4. Duties. The task force shall examine the current laws in the State addressing opiate abuse and heroin use, including but not limited to existing laws focused on law enforcement, prevention, treatment and recovery. As part of its study, the task force shall review the report and recommendations of the Maine Opiate Collaborative issued on May 6, 2016 as well as initiatives that have been successfully undertaken by other states, including but not limited to proposals for increased law enforcement personnel or funding; substance abuse prevention, treatment and peer recovery services; and substance abuse prevention and education in schools and communities, and shall develop recommendations to address the opioid crisis in the State.

5. Compensation. The legislative members of the task force are entitled to receive the legislative per diem, as defined in the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 3, section 2, and reimbursement for travel and other necessary expenses related to their attendance at authorized meetings of the task force. Public members not otherwise compensated by their employers or other entities that they represent are entitled to receive reimbursement of necessary expenses and, upon a demonstration of financial hardship, a per diem equal to the legislative per diem for their attendance at authorized meetings of the task force.

6. Quorum. A quorum is a majority of the members of the task force, including those members invited to participate who have accepted the invitation to participate.

7. Staffing. The Legislative Council shall contract for necessary staff support for the task force during the legislative session and may contract for such staff support for a longer period to the extent needed and if sufficient funding is available. At the request of the task force, the Legislative Council may provide drafting assistance to the task force during the legislative session and other staffing support to the task force when the Legislature is not in session.

8. Reports. No later than April 30, 2017, the task force shall submit an initial report that includes its findings and recommendations, including suggested legislation, for introduction to the First Regular Session of the 128th Legislature. No later than December 6, 2017, the task force shall submit a final report that includes its findings and recommendations, including suggested legislation, for introduction to the Second Regular Session of the 128th Legislature.

Expressions of Legislative Sentiment recognizing:

SLS 60

Sponsored by Senator CARPENTER of Aroostook. Cosponsored by Representative: WHITE of Washburn.

⁽⁴⁻²⁾ the Central Aroostook Middle School Cheerleading Squad, of Mars Hill, which won the 2017 Aroostook League Middle School Cheering Championship. We extend to all the members of the team our congratulations and best wishes;