MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from electronic originals (may include minor formatting differences from printed original)



126th MAINE LEGISLATURE

FIRST REGULAR SESSION-2013

Legislative Document

No. 1476

H.P. 1057

House of Representatives, April 30, 2013

An Act To Protect Local Input in Economic Development and Redevelopment Efforts

Reference to the Committee on Labor, Commerce, Research and Economic Development suggested and ordered printed.

Millicent M. Macfarland MILLICENT M. MacFARLAND Clerk

Presented by Representative DAUGHTRY of Brunswick.
Cosponsored by Senator MILLETT of Cumberland and
Representatives: CAMPBELL of Newfield, DeCHANT of Bath, HAMANN of South Portland,
MASON of Topsham, MASTRACCIO of Sanford, VOLK of Scarborough.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

- **Sec. 1. 5 MRSA §13083-H, sub-§6,** as enacted by PL 2005, c. 599, §1, is amended to read:
 - **6. Primary impact community.** "Primary impact community" means the municipalities of Bath, Bowdoin, Bowdoinham, Brunswick, Freeport, Harpswell, Lisbon Falls and Topsham and Androscoggin County, Cumberland County and Sagadahoe County.
- **Sec. 2. 5 MRSA §13083-I, sub-§§2 and 3,** as enacted by PL 2005, c. 599, §1, are amended to read:
 - **2. Membership**; **appointment.** The authority is governed by a board of trustees composed of: 11 voting members appointed by the Governor and subject to review by the joint standing committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over economic development matters and to confirmation by the Senate; and 2 voting members, one of whom is appointed by the town council of the Town of Brunswick and one of whom is appointed by the board of selectmen of the Town of Topsham.
 - A. Trustees are appointed for 4-year terms, except that, for initial appointments, 3 trustees are appointed to one-year terms, 3 trustees are appointed to 2-year terms, 2 trustees are appointed to 3-year terms, 2 trustees are appointed to 4-year terms and the commissioner designated pursuant to paragraph D serves at the pleasure of the Governor. A vacancy must be filled in the same manner as the original appointment for the balance of the unexpired term.
 - B. A trustee continues to hold office until a successor is appointed and qualified, but the term of the successor is not altered from the original expiration date of the holdover trustee's term.
 - C. The Governor shall make 10 appointments, of which no fewer than 7.5 must be from candidates who are residents of Androscoggin County, Cumberland County and Sagadahoc County and are nominated by the primary impact communities. The Governor shall appoint members who reflect the diversity of interests represented by these communities.
 - D. The Governor shall designate a commissioner of a department of State Government to be a voting, ex officio member of the board of trustees.
 - E. A member appointed to the board of trustees may not hold an elected office in municipal, county or state government.
- **3. Quorum.** Six Seven members constitute a quorum. Six Seven affirmative votes are required for the board of trustees to take action.

36 SUMMARY

This bill adds 2 members to the board of trustees of the Midcoast Regional Redevelopment Authority, one appointed by the town council of the Town of Brunswick

- and one appointed by the board of selectmen of the Town of Topsham. It also removes references to counties from the definition of "primary impact community." 1
- 2