



125th MAINE LEGISLATURE

FIRST SPECIAL SESSION-2011

Legislative Document

No. 1591

H.P. 1196

House of Representatives, September 26, 2011

An Act To Reapportion Maine's Congressional Districts

(EMERGENCY)

Submitted by the Commission to Reapportion Maine's Congressional Districts pursuant to Joint Order 2011, H.P. 1186.

Heath JR Print

HEATHER J.R. PRIEST Clerk

Presented by Representative MARTIN of Eagle Lake.

- 1 **Emergency preamble. Whereas,** acts and resolves of the Legislature do not 2 become effective until 90 days after adjournment unless enacted as emergencies; and
- Whereas, current law provides for the reapportionment of Maine's congressional
 districts in 2013; and
- 5 **Whereas,** the United States District Court has ruled that Maine may not wait until 6 2013 to redraw its 2 congressional districts to reflect population shifts, but must instead 7 redraw the districts in time for the congressional election in 2012; and
- 8 **Whereas,** in the judgment of the Legislature, these facts create an emergency within 9 the meaning of the Constitution of Maine and require the following legislation as 10 immediately necessary for the preservation of the public peace, health and safety; now, 11 therefore,
- 12 Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:
- 13 Sec. 1. 21-A MRSA §1205, sub-§§1 and 2, as enacted by PL 1993, c. 628, §2,
 14 are repealed and the following enacted in their place:
- 15 1. First District. The First District consists of the counties of Cumberland, Knox,
 Lincoln, Sagadahoc and York and the municipalities of Albion, Augusta, Belgrade,
 Chelsea, China, Farmingdale, Hallowell, Manchester, Monmouth, Mount Vernon,
 Oakland, Pittston, Randolph, Readfield, Sidney, Wayne, West Gardiner, Windsor and
 Winthrop in Kennebec County.
- 20 2. Second District. The Second District consists of the counties of Androscoggin,
 21 Aroostook, Franklin, Hancock, Oxford, Penobscot, Piscataquis, Somerset, Waldo and
 22 Washington and the municipalities of Benton, Clinton, Fayette, Gardiner, Litchfield,
 23 Rome, Unity Township, Vassalboro, Vienna, Waterville and Winslow in Kennebec
 24 County.
- 25 **Sec. 2. Legislative intent.** The Legislature intends that the apportionment of the 26 congressional districts of the State established in this Act is independent of and severable 27 from any apportionment of the Maine Senate or the Maine House of Representatives.
- Emergency clause. In view of the emergency cited in the preamble, this
 legislation takes effect when approved.
- 30 SUMMARY
- This bill, which is the majority report of the Commission to Reapportion Maine's
 Congressional Districts, reapportions Maine's congressional districts.
- Under this bill, the First District consists of Cumberland County, Knox County,
 Lincoln County, Sagadahoc County and York County and the following municipalities of
 Kennebec County: Albion, Augusta, Belgrade, Chelsea, China, Farmingdale, Hallowell,
 Manchester, Monmouth, Mount Vernon, Oakland, Pittston, Randolph, Readfield, Sidney,

Wayne, West Gardiner, Windsor and Winthrop. The Second District consists of
 Androscoggin County, Aroostook County, Franklin County, Hancock County, Oxford
 County, Penobscot County, Piscataquis County, Somerset County, Waldo County and
 Washington County and the following municipalities of Kennebec County: Benton,
 Clinton, Fayette, Gardiner, Litchfield, Rome, Unity Township, Vassalboro, Vienna,
 Waterville and Winslow.