MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)



124th MAINE LEGISLATURE

SECOND REGULAR SESSION-2010

Legislative Document

No. 1832

S.P. 747

In Senate, April 6, 2010

An Act To Amend the Laws Governing the Election of Androscoggin County Commissioner District Budget Committee Members

(AFTER DEADLINE)

Approved for introduction by a majority of the Legislative Council pursuant to Joint Rule 205.

Reference to the Committee on State and Local Government suggested and ordered printed.

JOY J. O'BRIEN Secretary of the Senate

Presented by Senator CRAVEN of Androscoggin.
Cosponsored by Representative LAJOIE of Lewiston and
Senators: NUTTING of Androscoggin, SIMPSON of Androscoggin, Representatives:
BOLDUC of Auburn, CAREY of Lewiston, ROTUNDO of Lewiston, WAGNER of Lewiston.

1	Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:
2 3 4	Sec. 1. 30-A MRSA §723, sub-§1, ¶D, as enacted by PL 1987, c. 737, Pt. A, §2 and Pt. C, §106 and amended by PL 1989, c. 6;, c. 9, §2; and c. 104, Pt. C, §§8 and 10, is repealed and the following enacted in its place:
5 6	D. The votes of each municipality shall be multiplied by the figure next to the municipality's name as follows:
7	(1) For Commissioner District Number One:
8	(a) Durham, 975;
9	(b) Greene, 1176;
10	(c) Leeds, 577;
11	(d) Lisbon, 2619;
12	(e) Livermore, 607;
13	(f) Livermore Falls, 931;
14	(g) Sabattus, 1294;
15	(h) Turner, 1435; and
16	(i) Wales, 381;
17	(2) For Commissioner District Number 2:
18	(a) Auburn, 6935;
19	(b) Mechanic Falls, 937;
20	(c) Minot, 671; and
21	(d) Poland, 1454; and
22	(3) For Commissioner District Number 3:
23	(a) Lewiston, 1.
24	These adjustment figures must be revised after each decennial census.
25	SUMMARY
26 27 28	This bill repeals that section of law outlining the method of calculating the votes for the Androscoggin County commissioner district budget committee members, and enacts in its stead a new section of law that reflects the current Androscoggin County commissioner districts, which were reapportioned in 2003 after the 2000 census.