MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)



123rd MAINE LEGISLATURE

FIRST REGULAR SESSION-2007

Legislative Document

No. 1257

H.P. 885

House of Representatives, March 8, 2007

An Act Regarding the Terms of Members of the Maine State Museum Commission

Reference to the Committee on Education and Cultural Affairs suggested and ordered printed.

Millient M. MacFarland MILLICENT M. MacFARLAND Clerk

Presented by Representative ADAMS of Portland.
Cosponsored by Senator MILLS of Somerset and
Representatives: BRYANT of Windham, BURNS of Berwick, DILL of Cape Elizabeth,
DRISCOLL of Westbrook, FINCH of Fairfield, MAKAS of Lewiston, SIMPSON of Auburn.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

Sec. 1. 27 MRSA §82, as amended by PL 1999, c. 706, §4 and affected by §9, is further amended to read:

§82. Maine State Museum Commission

The Governor shall appoint the Maine State Museum Commission, as established by Title 5, section 12004-G, subsection 7-C, consisting of 15 members especially qualified and interested in the several fields of museum activity. Of those members first appointed, 5 are appointed for terms of 2 years, 5 for 4 years and 5 for 6 years. Their successors are appointed for 4 years. Members are limited to 2 consecutive -4 year 5-year terms that expire on August 22nd. Each member shall serve serves for the term of the appointment and until a successor is appointed and qualified. The commission shall elect a chair and vice-chair from its members. In case of the termination of a member's service during the term. If a vacancy occurs before the member's term expires, the Governor shall appoint a successor for the unexpired term. Members are entitled to compensation in accordance with the provisions of Title 5, chapter 379.

Sec. 2. Transition to 5-year terms for Maine State Museum Commission members. The limit of 2 consecutive terms for all members of the Maine State Museum Commission applies to full terms beginning after August 11, 2000. The transitional terms of members may be shorter or longer than 5 years so that 3 members' terms expire on August 22nd each year. The transitional appointments, including reappointments of incumbents, expire on August 22nd in the years assigned in this section. Seats designated by the Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions as 05, 08 and 10 expire in 2010; seats 09, 12 and 14 expire in 2011; seats 02, 06 and 15 expire in 2012; seats 01, 03 and 04 expire in 2013; and seats 07, 11 and 13 expire in 2014.

25 SUMMARY

This bill adds one year to the terms of Maine State Museum Commission members, and provides a transition plan to create a predictable and sustainable pattern for future appointments. This pattern will result in 3 out of 15 member terms expiring on a fixed date each year.