MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)



122nd MAINE LEGISLATURE

FIRST REGULAR SESSION-2005

Legislative Document

No. 1096

H.P. 749

House of Representatives, March 1, 2005

An Act To Make Technical and Minor Changes in the Capitol Planning Commission

Reference to the Committee on State and Local Government suggested and ordered printed.

Millicent M. MacFarland
MILLICENT M. MacFARLAND
Clerk

Presented by Representative LERMAN of Augusta. Cosponsored by Representatives: BROWN of South Berwick, DAVIS of Augusta, Senator: MITCHELL of Kennebec.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

2 Sec. 1. 5 MRSA §298, sub-§3, as repealed and replaced by PL 4 1979, c. 108, §2, is amended to read: Residents. Two--residents One resident of the Capitol 3. Planning District and one-resident 2 residents of the City of Augusta, who shall may not be a-resident residents of the Capitol Planning District, to be appointed by the Governor for terms of 2

Sec. 2. Existing resident members. The existing resident members the Capitol Planning Commission holding office on effective date of this Act hold office as resident members for the terms for which they were elected, and as each term expires a resident member is elected for 5 years. If a vacancy arises, it must be filled for the remainder of the unexpired term.

18

20

10

12

14

16

5 years; and

SUMMARY

22 This bill changes the composition of the resident membership of the Capitol Planning Commission from 2 residents of Capitol Planning District and one resident of the City of Augusta 24 not a resident of the Capitol Planning District to one resident of the Capitol Planning District and 2 residents of the City of 26 Augusta not residents of the Capitol Planning District. The bill also changes the term of the resident members from 2 years to 528 years.

30