MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)



121st MAINE LEGISLATURE

FIRST REGULAR SESSION-2003

Legislative Document

No. 898

S.P. 293

In Senate, February 20, 2003

An Act To Amend the Laws Governing Sagadahoc County Commissioner Elections and Budget Hearings

Reference to the Committee on State and Local Government suggested and ordered printed.

JOY J. O'BRIEN Secretary of the Senate

Presented by Senator MAYO of Sagadahoc. Cosponsored by Representative PERCY of Phippsburg and Representative: WATSON of Bath.

2	Sec. 1. 30-A MRSA §61-B is enacted to read:
4	§61-B. Sagadahoc County
6 8 10	Notwithstanding section 61, registered voters of Sagadahoc County shall elect a board of commissioners for the county consisting of a chair and 4 other citizens. All other provisions of section 61 apply to Sagadahoc County, except that 2 of the commissioners must be elected by and represent the entire county.
12	Sec. 2. 30-A MRSA §66, sub-§12, as amended by PL 1993, c. 554,
14	\$1, is further amended to read:
16 18	12. Creation of Sagadahoc County Commissioner Districts. Sagadahoc County is divided into the following 3 districts.
20	A. Commissioner District Number 1 consists of the municipalities of Bowdoin and Topsham. The term of office of the commissioner from this district expires in 1988 and
22	every 4 years thereafter.
24	B. Commissioner District Number 2 consists of the municipalities of Arrowsic, Bowdoinham, Georgetown,
26	Phippsburg, Richmond and Woolwich and the unorganized territory of Perkins. The term of office of the
28	commissioner from this district expires in 1988 and every 4 years thereafter.
30	C. Commissioner District Number 3 consists of the
32	municipalities of Bath and West Bath. The term of office of the commissioner from this district expires in 1990 and
34	every 4 years thereafter.
36	In addition to the commissioners from the districts specified in paragraphs A, B and C, 2 commissioners must be elected at large.
38	The term of office of an at-large commissioner is 4 years, except that for initial commissioners elected at large, the term of the
40	first commissioner on the ballot expires in 2006 and the term of the 2nd commissioner on the ballot expires in 2008.
42	Sec. 3. 30-A MRSA §884, as amended by PL 2001, c. 143, §2 and
44	affected by $\S\S3$ and 4 and affected by c. 499, $\S1$, is further amended to read:
46	§884. Budget estimate; submission to advisory
48	committee

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

2

The Sagadahoc County commissioners shall submit a budget estimate to the advisory committee no later than April 1st for the coming fiscal year. The advisory committee shall review the budget estimate, hold a public hearing on the budget estimate and make recommendations to the commissioners before May 15th. The county commissioners shall hold at least one public hearing in each of the 3 commissioner districts. After the public hearings, the county commissioners shall act on the budget in a timely fashion and, in any event, not later than June 15th prior to the beginning of the budget year.

SUMMARY

This bill increases the number of county commissioners in Sagadahoc County from 3 to 5 and requires that 2 of the 5 commissioners be elected at large with staggered terms. It also requires that public hearings on the Sagadahoc County budget be held in each of the 3 commissioner districts.