MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)



121st MAINE LEGISLATURE

FIRST REGULAR SESSION-2003

Legislative Document

No. 841

H.P. 618

House of Representatives, February 20, 2003

An Act To Increase the Number of County Commissioners in Cumberland County

Reference to the Committee on State and Local Government suggested and ordered printed.

Millient M. Macfarland MILLICENT M. MacFARLAND Clerk

Presented by Representative McLAUGHLIN of Cape Elizabeth.

Cosponsored by Senator BROMLEY of Cumberland and

Representatives: BARSTOW of Gorham, BLISS of South Portland, BRUNO of Raymond,

CLOUGH of Scarborough, DUDLEY of Portland, MUSE of Fryeburg, Senators: GILMAN of

Cumberland, PENDLETON of Cumberland.

	Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:
2	Sec. 1. 30-A MRSA §66, sub-§3, as amended by PL 1993, c. 554,
4	§1, is repealed and the following enacted in its place:
6	3. Creation of Cumberland County Commissioner Districts.
8	Cumberland County is divided into the following 7 districts.
10	A. Commissioner District Number 1 consists of part of the
10	municipality of Portland to coincide with the boundary of State Senate District 28. The term of this office expires
12	in 2004 and every 3 years thereafter.
14	B. Commissioner District Number 2 consists of the
16	municipalities of Falmouth and Long Island and part of the
10	municipality of Portland to coincide with the boundary of State Senate District 27. The term of this office expires
18	in 2005 and every 3 years thereafter.
20	C. Commissioner District Number 3 consists of the
2.2	municipalities of Brunswick, Harpswell, Freeport, Pownal and
22	New Gloucester. The term of this office expires in 2006 and every 3 years thereafter.
24	every 3 years therearter.
	D. Commissioner District Number 4 consists of the
26	municipalities of Yarmouth, North Yarmouth, Cumberland, Gray
28	and Windham. The term of this office expires in 2004 and
20	every 3 years thereafter.
30	E. Commissioner District Number 5 consists of the
32	municipalities of Baldwin, Standish, Sebago, Naples, Bridgton, Harrison, Casco, Raymond and Frye Island. The term
32	of this office expires in 2005 and every 3 years thereafter.
34	
	F. Commissioner District Number 6 consists of the
36	municipalities of South Portland and Westbrook. The term of
38	this office expires in 2006 and every 3 years thereafter.
30	G. Commissioner District Number 7 consists of the
40	municipalities of Cape Elizabeth, Scarborough and Gorham.
	The term of this office expires in 2004 and every 3 years
42	thereafter.
44	Sec. 2. Transition. A person holding the office of Cumberland
	County commissioner on the effective date of this Act continues
46	to serve in that capacity until the 7 Cumberland County commissioners provided for in this Act are elected.

48

SUMMARY

2

This bill increases the number of Cumberland County commissioners from 3 to 7 with staggered 3-year terms.