



120th MAINE LEGISLATURE

FIRST REGULAR SESSION-2001

Legislative Document

No. 1376

S.P. 420

In Senate, March 5, 2001

An Act Concerning the State Court Library System.

(AFTER DEADLINE)

Approved for introduction by a majority of the Legislative Council pursuant to Joint Rule 205.

Reference to the Committee on Judiciary suggested and ordered printed.

JOBuen

JOY J. O'BRIEN Secretary of the Senate

Presented by Senator LONGLEY of Waldo.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

Sec. 1. 4 MRSA §191, as amended by PL 1993, c. 375, $\S1$, is further amended to read:

§191. State Court Library Committee

The State Court Library Committee, as established in Title 8 5, section 12004-G, subsection 23, consists of 9 voting members, 10 3 of whom must be members of the public, 2 of whom must be members of the judiciary and 4 of whom must be attorneys. Each attorney appointed to the committee must be actively engaged in 12 the practice of law and have an established place of business in 14 a county in which a law library established pursuant to section 193 is located and-must-be-ehosen-so-that-each-tier-has--an atterney-representative. One of the 4 attorney members must be 16 chosen from a county having a census population of from 45,000 to 18 120,000 and one of the 4 must be chosen from a county having a census population of less than 45,000 persons. The members are 20 appointed by and serve at the pleasure of the Chief Justice of the Supreme Judicial Court. The Chief Justice shall designate the 22 chair. The State Law Librarian, the University of Maine School of Law Librarian and the State Court Administrator are ex officio 24 nonvoting members. A quorum consists of 5 of the voting members. The committee shall meet at least 4 times each year. 26 Secretarial assistance must be provided by the Administrative Office of the Courts.

28

32

34

2

4

6

Sec. 2. 4 MRSA §193, as amended by PL 1995, c. 55, §1 and 30 affected by §2, is repealed and the following enacted in its place:

<u>§193. System of law libraries</u>

There must be a system of law libraries accessible to all 36 citizens within the State, under the supervision of the State Court Library Committee.

38 These libraries must be located in: 40 Androscoggin County, Auburn; 42 Aroostook County, Caribou; 44 Aroostook County, Houlton; 46 Cumberland County, Portland; 48 Franklin County, Farmington; 50

2	Hancock County, Ellsworth;
	Kennebec County, Augusta;
4	Knox County, Rockland;
6	Lincoln County, Wiscasset;
8	Oxford County, South Paris;
10	Penobscot County, Bangor;
12	Piscataguis County, Dover-Foxcroft;
14	Sagadahoc County, Bath;
16	
18	Somerset County, Skowhegan;
20	Waldo County, Belfast;
22	Washington County, Machias; and
24	York County, Alfred.
26 28	All funds appropriated by the Legislature for the use and benefit of the law libraries must be paid to the Administrative Office of the Courts and must be disbursed by that office under the direction of the State Court Library Committee.
30	The libraries located at Bangor and Portland are to serve as regional court law library centers. The State Court Library
32	Committee shall allocate specific funds, in addition to the resources received by the other law libraries, to the regional
34	court law library centers in Bangor and Portland to purchase legal resources, library equipment and supplies and necessary
36	personnel. Both regional court libraries must receive the same funds.
38	
40	All other law libraries must receive equal resources and services regardless of location and have access to the regional court law library centers for the resources not available locally.
42	Sec. 3. 4 MRSA §195, as enacted by PL 1981, c. 510, §1, is
44	amended to read:
46	§195. County law libraries
48	There is-ereated must be a County Law Library Committee, of
50	net-less-than-3-nor-more-than-7-members, in each county in which a county law library is located. The members of the committee shall must be appointed or elected by the county bar association,

۰,

or other governing body, as its bylaws may provide. Membership on
the committee need not be restricted to attorneys. The County Law
Library Committee shall appoint a ehairman chair, a treasurer and
a clerk.

Sec. 4. 4 MRSA §196, as enacted by PL 1981, c. 510, §1, is amended to read:

8

10

б

§196. Duties, county committee

The County Law Library Committee shall, in conjunction with the State Court Library Committee, establish local operating 12 policies, such as, but not limited to, hours, circulation policies, -- smoking-rules, -- access and photocopy privileges. Each 14 county committee shall exercise supervision over the expenditures of private and nonstate funds, including endowments, and may use 16 those funds to upgrade its county law library. Each-County-Law Library -- Committee, --- together -- with --- the -- State -- Court -- Library 18 Committee, -- shall--develop-its--basic-collection-within-quidelines 20 established-by-the-State-Court-Library-Committee --- Each -county committee, --- in -- consultation -- with -- the -- State -- Court -- Library 22 Committee, --- shall -- determine -- new -- acquisitions. Each county committee shall determine space requirements, with the advice and assistance of the State Court Library Committee. 24

26

28

SUMMARY

This bill implements the recommendations made by the Study Group to the State Library Committee. The bill requires that one 30 of the 4 attorney members on the State Court Library Committee 32 must be chosen from a county having a census population of from 45,000 to 120,000 and that one must be chosen from a county 34 having a census population of less than 45,000 persons. The bill also adds Kennebec County to the list of available law library 36 locations. The bill also requires the County Law Library Committee in conjunction with the State Court Library Committee 38 to establish local operating policies.