## MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)



## 120th MAINE LEGISLATURE

## FIRST REGULAR SESSION-2001

Legislative Document

No. 996

S.P. 285

In Senate, February 20, 2001

An Act to Amend the Laws Governing the Maine Potato Board.

Reference to the Committee on Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry suggested and ordered printed.

JOY J. O'BRIEN Secretary of the Senate

Presented by Senator KNEELAND of Aroostook.
Cosponsored by Representative BELANGER of Caribou and
Senator MARTIN of Aroostook, Representatives: DUNCAN of Presque Isle, LANDRY of
Patten, LUNDEEN of Mars Hill, WHEELER of Bridgewater, YOUNG of Limestone.

	Sec. 1. 7 MRSA §1033, sub-§1, ¶B, as amended by PL 1987, c.
4	99, §6, is further amended to read:
6	B. Seven <u>Five</u> representatives of growers of tablestock potatoes, one elected by the assembly of tablestock growers
8	in each of the districts established pursuant to Title 36,
10	section 4602, subsection 3 $3-A$ ;
10	Sec. 2. 36 MRSA §4602, sub-§3, as amended by PL 1991, c. 190,
12	is repealed and the following enacted in its place:
14	3. District. "District" means each one of the geographical
16	divisions of the State as follows:
	A. District One: Fort Kent, Fort Kent Mills, Frenchville,
18	Grand Isle, Keegan, New Canada Plantation, New Sweden,
2.0	Sinclair, Soldier Pond, St. Agatha, St. David, St. Francis,
20	Stockholm and Van Buren;
22	B. District 2: Caribou, Connor, Connor Township,
2.4	Crouseville, Fort Fairfield, Limestone, Perham, Washburn and
24	Woodland;
26	C. District 3: Ashland, Blaine, Bridgewater, Chapman,
2.0	Easton, Garfield Plantation, Mapleton, Mars Hill, Presque
28	Isle and Robbinston;
30	D. District 4: Benedicta, Houlton, Island Falls, Lee,
	Littleton, Monticello, New Limerick, Oakfield, Patten,
32	Sherman and Sherman Mills; and
34	E. District 5: Auburn, Canton, Charleston, Corinna,
	Dexter, Dover-Foxcroft, Dresden, East Corinth, Exeter,
36	Farmington Falls, Fryeburg, Hampden, Lewiston, Lincoln,
38	Milo, Newport, Pittsfield, Rumford, Sangerville, Scarborough, Steep Falls and Troy.
40	Sec. 3. 36 MRSA §4603, sub-§2, ¶¶A, B and C, as enacted by PL
4.2	1985, c. 753, $\S$ 14 and 15, are amended to read:
42	A. There shall-be-7 are 5 assemblies of tablestock growers,
44	one for each district. Subject to paragraph F, all
	tablestock growers in any district shall-be are entitled to
46	membership in that district's tablestock growers' assembly.
48	B. There shall-be-7 are 5 assemblies of seed growers, one
	for each district. Subject to paragraph F, all seed growers

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

2

2	in any district shall-be are entitled to membership in that district's seed growers' assembly.
4	C. There shall-be-7 are 5 assemblies of processing growers, one for each district. Subject to paragraph F, all
6	processing growers in any district shall-be are entitled to membership in that district's processing growers' assembly.
8	Sec. 4. 36 MRSA §4603, sub-§3, ¶¶A, B and C, as enacted by PL
10	1985, c. 753, §§14 and 15, are amended to read:
12	A. The executive council for the tablestock growers shall eensist consists of 7 members, one elected by the tablestock
14	growers' assembly for each district and 2 additional members are appointed by the board.
16	
18	B. The executive council for the seed growers shall-eensist consists of 7 members, one elected by the seed growers' assembly for each district and 2 additional members are
20	appointed by the board.
22	C. The executive council for the processing growers shall eensist consists of 7 members, one elected by the processing
24	growers' assembly for each district and 2 additional members are appointed by the board.
26	Sec. 5. 36 MRSA §4603, sub-§4, as amended by PL 1993, c. 561,
28	§1, is further amended to read:
30	4. Terms of executive council membership. Once elected, executive council members shall serve for 2 years, provided that
32	the members may continue to serve until a successor is duly elected and qualified and that executive council members may not
34	serve more than 5 consecutive terms. The members appointed by
0 -	the board serve for staggered 2-year terms to be determined by
36	the board.
38	
40	SUMMARY
	This bill amends the laws governing the Maine Potato Board.
42	The bill reduces the number of districts from 7 to 5. The bill requires the board to appoint 2 members to the executive councils.