## MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)



## 119th MAINE LEGISLATURE

## **FIRST REGULAR SESSION-1999**

Legislative Document

No. 2227

S.P. 824

In Senate, May 12, 1999

An Act to Expand Membership on the Maine Tourism Commission.

(AFTER DEADLINE)

Approved for introduction by a majority of the Legislative Council pursuant to Joint Rule 205.

Reference to the Committee on Business and Economic Development suggested and ordered printed.

JOY J. O'BRIEN Secretary of the Senate

Presented by Senator BENNETT of Oxford. Cosponsored by Representative COWGER of Hallowell and

Senators: DAVIS of Piscataquis, MacKINNON of York, PENDLETON of Cumberland, Representatives: MARVIN of Cape Elizabeth, SHOREY of Calais, TRIPP of Topsham.

	Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:
2	Sec. 1. 5 MRSA §13090-F, sub-§1, as amended by PL 1997, c.
4	268, §1, is repealed and the following enacted in its place:
6	1. Maine Tourism Commission. The Maine Tourism Commission, established by section 12004-I, subsection 87 and referred to in
8	this section as the "commission," shall assist and advise the
10	Office of Tourism and Community Development to achieve its purpose under section 13090-C. The commission consists of 24 voting members appointed by the Governor as follows:
12	
14	A. Three members representing the outdoor sporting interests of the State, including:
16	(1) One member representing a statewide organization of hunters, anglers and trappers;
18	(2) One member representing the interests of large
20	landowners; and
22	(3) One member representing a statewide organization of licensed Maine quides;
24	
26	B. Eight public members who represent their respective regions and have experience in the field or have demonstrated concern for the travel industry; and
28	
30	C. Thirteen members of major tourism trade associations, including:
32	(1) At least one member representing a statewide organization of hotels, motels and inns;
34	
36	(2) At least one member representing a statewide organization of restaurants;
38	(3) At least one member representing a statewide
40	organization of campground owners:
42	(4) At least one member representing the retail sector in the State;
44	(5) At least one member representing the motorcoach industry;
46	
48	(6) At least one member representing the air transportation industry; and
50	(7) At least one member representing arts and cultural organizations.

2	The terms of the voting members are for 4 years each. The
4	Governor shall fill a vacancy in the membership for any unexpired term. The commissioners, directors or designees of the following
•	state departments or offices shall serve as ex officio, nonvoting
6	members of the commission: the department; the State Planning
	Office; the Department of Conservation; the Department of
8	Transportation; the Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife;
10	the Department of Agriculture, Food and Rural Resources; the
10	Department of Education; and the Bureau of Public Improvements.  The Canadian Affairs Coordinator shall also serve as an ex
12	officio, nonvoting member of the commission. A chair and
	vice-chair of the commission must be elected annually from the
14	appointed membership.
16	Sec. 2. Staggered terms. The terms of the additional 4
	members representing tourism industry interests that are added to
18	the Maine Tourism Commission under this Act are as follows:
20	1. For the first appointed member, the term is 4 years;
22	2. For the 2nd appointed member, the term is 3 years;
24	3. For the 3rd appointed member, the term is 2 years; and
26	4. For the 4th appointed member, the term is one year.
28	SUMMARY
30	SUMMARI
50	This bill expands the Maine Tourism Commission from 20 to 24
32	voting members and adds a list of 7 representatives of various
	tourism industry interests as specific members that the Governor
34	appoints. The 4 new members added to the commission under this

bill are appointed with staggered terms.