MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)



119th MAINE LEGISLATURE

FIRST REGULAR SESSION-1999

Legislative Document

No. 1749

H.P. 1220

House of Representatives, March 9, 1999

An Act to Require the Secretary of State to Establish a Central Voter List for the State.

Reference to the Committee on Legal and Veterans Affairs suggested and ordered printed.

OSEPH W. MAYO, Clerk

Presented by Representative TESSIER of Fairfield.
Cosponsored by Senator KONTOS of Cumberland and
Representatives: DUGAY of Cherryfield, GAGNON of Waterville, LEMOINE of Old Orchard Beach, MAILHOT of Lewiston, SHIAH of Bowdoinham, TUTTLE of Sanford,

TWOMEY of Biddeford, Senator: KILKELLY of Lincoln.

	Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:
2	•
4	Sec. 1. 21-A MRSA §161, sub-§6 is enacted to read:
•	6. Copies of list to be furnished to Secretary of State
6	The registrar shall send a copy of the voting list to the
	Secretary of State upon request of the Secretary of State
8	pursuant to section 168.
10	Sec. 2. 21-A MRSA §168 is enacted to read:
12	§168. Central voting list for State
14	The Secretary of State shall maintain a central
16	comprehensive voting list for the State that includes the names
10	and addresses of all residents registered to vote. The Secretary of State shall update the list at least once a year by requesting
18	the voting list from the registrar of every municipality in the
10	State.
20	<u>0.6868</u> •
22	SUMMARY
24	This bill requires the Secretary of State to maintain a
	central voting list for the State and to update the list at least
26	once a year by requesting the voting list from the registrar of
	every municipality in the State. This bill also requires a
28	registrar to furnish the voting list for the registrar's municipality to the Secretary of State upon request from the
30	Secretary of State.