



119th MAINE LEGISLATURE

FIRST REGULAR SESSION-1999

Legislative Document

No. 739

H.P. 532

House of Representatives, January 26, 1999

An Act to Form a New Local Education Agency.

(EMERGENCY)

Reference to the Committee on Education and Cultural Affairs suggested and ordered printed.

W). Np

OSEPH W. MAYO, Clerk

Presented by Representative POWERS of Rockport. Cosponsored by Senator LONGLEY of Waldo and Representatives: BERRY of Belmont, SAVAGE of Union, Senator: PINGREE of Knox. **Emergency preamble. Whereas,** Acts of the Legislature do not become effective until 90 days after adjournment unless enacted as emergencies; and

Whereas, the Legislature has previously authorized the formation of the Appleton, Camden, Hope, Lincolnville and Rockport community school district for the purpose of assuming the operation of grades 9 to 12 in those towns; and

 10 Whereas, the Appleton, Camden, Hope, Lincolnville and Rockport community school district, incorporated as the Five Town
12 Community School District, will assume responsibility as the local education agency for secondary education in these towns
14 beginning July 1, 1999; and

16 Whereas, the Five Town Community School District must also be designated as the local education agency for applied 18 technology education in these towns so that a plan for reorganizing the provision of vocational education in the Knox 20 County region can be presented to the State Board of Education for its approval; and

Whereas, in the judgment of the Legislature, these facts create an emergency within the meaning of the Constitution of Maine and require the following legislation as immediately necessary for the preservation of the public peace, health and safety; now, therefore,

- Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:
- 30

46

28

22

4

Sec. 1. 20-A MRSA §8451, sub-§2, ¶G, as amended by PL 1991, c. 32 518, §17, is further amended to read:

34 G. Region 8. KNOX COUNTY. Units located in this region include: Appleton+-Hope Five Town Community School District 36 (Appleton, Camden, Hope, Lincolnville and Rockport); Islesboro; Lineelnville; School Administrative District No. 38 (Owls Head, Rockland and South Thomaston); School 5 Administrative District No. 7 (North Haven); School 40 Administrative District No. 8 (Vinalhaven); School Administrative-District-No.--28--(Gamdon-and-Reckport); School 42 Administrative District No. 40 (Friendship, Union, Waldoboro, Warren and Washington); and School Administrative District No. 50 (Cushing, St. George and Thomaston). 44

Emergency clause. In view of the emergency cited in the preamble, this Act takes effect when approved.

2	SUMMARY
4	
	The purpose of this bill is to establish the Five Town
6	Community School District as the local education agency for applied technology education for secondary students in the towns
8	of Appleton, Camden, Hope, Lincolnville and Rockport.

_