## MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)



## 117th MAINE LEGISLATURE

## **SECOND REGULAR SESSION-1996**

Legislative Document

No. 1792

S.P. 703

In Senate, February 20, 1996

An Act Concerning the Number of Washington County Commissioners.

(AFTER DEADLINE)

Approved for introduction by a majority of the Legislative Council pursuant to Joint Rule 27. Reference to the Committee on State and Local Government suggested and ordered printed.

MAY M. ROSS Secretary of the Senate

Presented by Senator CASSIDY of Washington. Cosponsored by Representatives: BAILEY of Township 27, DRISCOLL of Calais, LAYTON of Cherryfield, LOOK of Jonesboro.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follow
---

	Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:
2	PART A
4	Sec. A.1. Special advisory referendum on the reconnectionment of
6	Sec. A-1. Special advisory referendum on the reapportionment of Washington County Commissioner Districts. The municipal officers of Washington County shall, at the next general election in the
8	month of November following the passage of this Act, hold a special advisory referendum to determine the sentiment of the
10	people of Washington County on the reapportionment of Washington County into 5 County Commissioner Districts.
12	
14	Sec. A-2. Advisory referendum procedure; submission at general
14	election. This advisory referendum must be submitted to the legal voters of Washington County at the next general election in the
16	month of November following passage of this Act. The municipal officers of Washington County shall notify the inhabitants of
18	their cities, towns and plantations to meet, in the manner prescribed by law for holding a statewide election, to give their
20	opinion on this question by voting on the following:
22	"Do you favor the reapportionment of Washington County to increase the number of County Commissioner Districts from 3
24	Districts to 5 Districts?"
26	The legal voters of each city, town and plantation in Washington County shall vote by ballot on this question and
28	designate their choice by a cross or check mark placed within a corresponding square below the word "Yes" or "No." The ballots
30	must be received, sorted, counted and declared in open ward, town and plantation meetings. The result of the vote must be declared
32 34	by the municipal officers of Washington County and due certificate must be filed by the municipal officers with the
34	Secretary of State.
36	PART B
38	Sec. B-1. 30-A MRSA §66, sub-§15, as amended by PL 1995, c. 501, §1, is further amended to read:
40	15. Creation of Washington County Commissioner Districts.
42	Washington County is divided into the following 3 districts.
44	A. Commissioner District Number 1 consists of the municipalities of Alexander, Baileyville, Baring Plantation,
46	Calais, Charlotte, Codyville Plantation, Cooper, Crawford, Danforth, Grand Lake Stream Plantation, Meddybemps,

Talmadge,

Vanceboro, Indian Township and the unorganized territory of

Topsfield,

The term of office of the commissioner

Waite

Robbinston,

Princeton,

North Washington.

48

50

	from this district expires in 1988 and every 4 years
2	thereafter.
4	B. Commissioner District Number 2 consists of the municipalities of Beddington, Centerville, Cutler, Deblois,
6	Dennysville, East Machias, Eastport, Lubec, Machiasport, Marshfield, Northfield, Pembroke, Perry, Wesley, Whiting and
8	Whitneyville, Pleasant Point Passamaquoddy Indian Reservation and the unorganized territories of East Central
10	Washington and North Washington. The term of office of the commissioner from this district expires in 1988 and every 4
12	years thereafter.
14	C. Commissioner District Number 3 consists of the municipalities of Addison, Beals, Cherryfield, Columbia,
16	Columbia Falls, Harrington, Jonesboro, Jonesport, Machias, Milbridge, Roque Bluffs and Steuben. The term of office of
18	the commissioner from this district expires in 1990 and every 4 years thereafter.
20	
	In-addition-to-the-commissioners-from-the-districts-specified-in
22	paragraphs-A,-B-and-G,-2-commissioners-must-be-elected-at-large. The-terms-of-office-of-the-at-large-commissioners-expire-in-1998
24	and-every-4-years-thereafter.
26	
28	STATEMENT OF FACT
30	This bill asks the voters of Washington County whether the

This bill asks the voters of Washington County whether the county should be reapportioned to increase the number of county commissioners from the current 3 to 5. The bill also repeals the 2 at-large county commissioner positions created in 1995.