MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)



117th MAINE LEGISLATURE

FIRST SPECIAL SESSION-1995

Legislative Document

No. 1595

H.P. 1162

House of Representatives, November 29, 1995

An Act to Increase the Number of Washington County Commissioners from 3 to 5.

(EMERGENCY)

Approved for introduction by a majority of the Legislative Council pursuant to Joint Rule 26. Reference to the Committee on State and Local Government suggested and ordered printed.

JOSEPH W. MAYO, Clerk

Presented by Representative BUNKER of Kossuth Township.
Cosponsored by Senator CASSIDY of Washington and
Representatives: BAILEY of Township 27, DRISCOLL of Calais, LAYTON of Cherryfield,
LOOK of Jonesboro.

Mandate preamble. This measure requires one or more local 2 units of government to expand or modify activities so as to necessitate additional expenditures from local revenues but does not provide funding for at least 90% of those expenditures. Pursuant to the Constitution of Maine, Article IX, Section 21, two thirds of all of the members elected to each House have 6 determined it necessary to enact this measure. 8 Emergency preamble. Whereas, Acts of the Legislature do not become effective until 90 days after adjournment unless enacted 10 as emergencies; and 12 Whereas, currently there is not a means of replacing county commissioners who are unable to perform their duties due to 14 illness or other incapacitating circumstances; and 16 Whereas, in Washington County, there is currently a county commissioner who cannot perform the duties of office; and 18 20 Whereas, this has effectively left one county commissioner district without representation, and has hampered the ability of the other county commissioners to maintain a quorum; and 22 24 Whereas, the creation of 2 more county commissioners, to be elected and serve at large, would alleviate the problem by giving 26 all county commissioner districts more than one commissioner; and 28 Whereas, in the judgment of the Legislature, these facts create an emergency within the meaning of the Constitution of Maine and require the following legislation as immediately 30 necessary for the preservation of the public peace, health and 32 safety; now, therefore, Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows: 34 Sec. 1. 30-A MRSA §66, sub-§15, as amended by PL 1993, c. 554, 36 \$1, is further amended to read: 38

15. Creation of Washington County Commissioner Districts.
40 Washington County is divided into the following 3 districts.

42

44

46

48

50

Commissioner District Number 1 consists of municipalities of Alexander, Baileyville, Baring Plantation, Calais, Charlotte, Codyville Plantation, Cooper, Crawford, Danforth, Grand Lake Stream Plantation, Meddybemps, Princeton, Robbinston, Talmadge, Topsfield, Vanceboro, Indian Township and the unorganized territory of North Washington. The term of office of the commissioner from this district expires in 1988 and every 4 years thereafter.

2	B. Commissioner District Number 2 consists of the municipalities of Beddington, Centerville, Cutler, Deblois,
4	Dennysville, East Machias, Eastport, Lubec, Machiasport,
6	Marshfield, Northfield, Pembroke, Perry, Wesley, Whiting and Whitneyville, Pleasant Point Passamaquoddy Indian
8	Reservation and the unorganized territories of East Central Washington and North Washington. The term of office of the commissioner from this district expires in 1988 and every 4
10	years thereafter.
12	C. Commissioner District Number 3 consists of the municipalities of Addison, Beals, Cherryfield, Columbia,
14	Columbia Falls, Harrington, Jonesboro, Jonesport, Machias, Milbridge, Roque Bluffs and Steuben. The term of office of
16	the commissioner from this district expires in 1990 and every 4 years thereafter.
18	In addition to the commissioners from the districts specified in
20	paragraphs A, B and C, 2 commissioners must be elected at large. The terms of office of the at-large commissioners expire in 1998
22	and every 4 years thereafter.
24 26	Emergency clause. In view of the emergency cited in the preamble, this Act takes effect when approved.
28	FISCAL NOTE
30	This bill requires Washington County to incur additional costs for 2 new county commissioners and for the costs of a
32	special election. The additional costs of this state mandate are expected to be minor. Pursuant to the Mandate Preamble, the 2/3
34	vote of all members elected to each House exempts the State from the constitutional requirement to fund 90% of the additional
36	local costs.
38	STATEMENT OF FACT
40	

Page 2-LR2961(1)

This bill increases the number of Washington County

commissioners by creating 2 at-large commissioner positions.

42