



117th MAINE LEGISLATURE

FIRST REGULAR SESSION-1995

Legislative Document

No. 1566

H.P. 1122

House of Representatives, June 12, 1995

An Act to Reform the Kennebec County Budget Process.

(AFTER DEADLINE)

Approved for introduction by a majority of the Legislative Council pursuant to Joint Rule 27. Reference to the Committee on State and Local Government suggested and ordered printed.

W.M

GOSEPH W. MAYO, Clerk

Presented by Representative MITCHELL of Vassalboro.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

Sec. 1. 30-A MRSA §66, sub-§6, as amended by PL 1993, c. 554, 4 §1, is further amended to read:

6

2

6. Creation of Kennebec County Commissioner Districts. Kennebec County is divided into the following 3 districts.

8

Α. Commissioner District Number 1 consists of the municipalities of Augusta, Chelsea, China, Randolph, Sidney, 10 Vassalboro and Windsor. The term of office of the 12 commissioner from this district expires in 1988 1996 and every -4- 2 years thereafter, notwithstanding section 62, 14 subsection 1.

16 в. Commissioner District Number 2 consists of the municipalities of Belgrade, Farmingdale, Fayette, Gardiner, Hallowell, Litchfield, Manchester, Monmouth, Mount Vernon, 18 Pittston, Readfield, Rome, Vienna, Wayne, West Gardiner and 20 Winthrop. The term of office of the commissioner from this district expires in 1990 1996 and every --4- 2 years thereafter, notwithstanding section 62, subsection 1. 22

24 C. Commissioner District Number 3 consists of the municipalities Clinton, of Albion, Benton, Oakland, Waterville, Winslow and Unity Township. The term of office 26 of the commissioner from this district expires in 1988 1996 28 and every -4- 2 years thereafter, notwithstanding section 62, subsection 1.

Sec. 2. 30-A MRSA §864, sub-§4, as amended by PL 1991, c. 533, 32 §7 and affected by §10, is further amended to read:

Approval of budget. After the public hearings are completed, the advisory budget committee shall submit its recommendations to the county commissioners for approval not later than the end of the county's fiscal year, subject to the conditions and restrictions imposed in subsection 2.

- A. The budget adopted by the advisory budget committee may be changed only by a unanimous vote of the county commissioners. Those actions are final and are not subject to further action by either the county commissioners or the advisory budget committee.
- B. The budget adopted and changed under this subsection is the final authorization for the assessment of county taxes
 and the county tax authorized is apportioned and collected in accordance with section 706.
- 50

30

Sec. 3. 30-A MRSA §864, sub-§4-A, as enacted by PL 1991, c. 533, §8 and affected by §10, is repealed.

4 Sec. 4. 36 MRSA §507, as amended by PL 1985, c. 376, is further amended by adding a new paragraph to read:

In addition to requirements specified in this section, the property tax bill issued by each municipality in Kennebec County must contain both a notice plainly stating that portion of the taxes being raised for Kennebec County and the names of the Kennebec County commissioners.

STATEMENT OF FACT

16 This bill changes the budget process in Kennebec County by removing the requirement that the budget be submitted to the 18 Legislature for approval and by allowing the county commissioners to change the budget submitted by the budget advisory committee, but only by a unanimous vote. The bill also changes the terms of 20 the Kennebec County commissioners to unstaggered 2-year terms. 22 The bill also requires tax bills issued in Kennebec County to state the portion of taxes being raised by the municipality for 24 Kennebec County and the names of Kennebec the County commissioners.

26

б

12

14