MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)



117th MAINE LEGISLATURE

FIRST REGULAR SESSION-1995

Legislative Document

No. 1552

S.P. 572

In Senate, May 25, 1995

An Act Concerning the Sites for Western Aroostook District Court.

(AFTER DEADLINE)

Approved for introduction by a majority of the Legislative Council pursuant to Joint Rule 27. Reference to the Committee on Judiciary suggested and ordered printed.

MAY M. ROSS Secretary of the Senate

Presented by Senator MILLS of Somerset.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

2

Sec. 1. 4 MRSA $\S153$, sub- $\S3$, as amended by PL 1993, c. 675, Pt. B, $\S1$, is further amended to read:

6

8

10

12

14

3. Western Aroostook. Western Aroostook consists of the municipalities and unorganized territory known as Hamlin Plt., Cyr Plt., T17 R3, T17 R4, T16 R5, T15 R6, Winterville Plt., T15 R8, T15 R9, T14 R10, T14 R11, T14 R12, T14 R13, T14 R14, T14 R15, T14 R16, and all municipalities and unorganized territory in Aroostook County lying to the west and north of these. The District Court for Western Aroostook must be held at Madawaska, and Fort Kent and-Van-Buren. The Chief Judge shall determine the level of service at each location.

16

STATEMENT OF FACT

18

20

This bill removes Van Buren as a site at which the Western Aroostook District Court must be held.