MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)



117th MAINE LEGISLATURE

FIRST REGULAR SESSION-1995

Legislative Document

No. 1359

S.P. 500

Received by the Secretary, April 14, 1995

An Act to Establish a New Prosecutorial District Consisting of Oxford County and Franklin County.

Referred to the Committee on Judiciary and ordered printed pursuant to Joint Rule 14.

MAY M. ROSS Secretary of the Senate

Presented by Senator FERGUSON of Oxford. Cosponsored by Senators: BENOIT of Franklin, CLEVELAND of Androscoggin, HANLEY of Oxford, Representatives: BARTH of Bethel, DEXTER of Kingfield, GOOLEY of Farmington, WINSOR of Norway.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

Sec. 1. 30-A MRSA §254, sub-§3, as amended by PL 1989, c. 104, Pt. C. §§8 and 10, is further amended to read:

3. Prosecutorial District Number 3. There shall-be is one district attorney for Oxford, Franklin-and Androscoggin Counties County, which-shall-be known as "Prosecutorial District Number 3." The district attorney shall-be is elected by the voters of Oxford, Franklin-and Androscoggin Counties County in the manner set forth in section 251.

Sec. 2. 30-A MRSA §254, sub-§9 is enacted to read:

9. Prosecutorial District Number 9. There is one district attorney for Oxford and Franklin Counties, known as "Prosecutorial District Number 9." The district attorney is elected by the voters of Oxford and Franklin Counties in the manner set forth in section 251.

Sec. 3. Effective date; implementation. The establishment of the new Prosecutorial District Number 9 and the amendment of Prosecutorial District Number 3 effected by this Act take effect January 1, 1999. The district attorney and the prosecutorial staff for Prosecutorial District 3 on the effective date of this Act may continue in office until January 1, 1999. District attorneys for Prosecutorial Districts 3 and 9 must be elected at the general election in November 1998. It is the intent of the Legislature that beginning January 1, 1999, prosecutorial duties for District 3 be carried out by the district attorney and 3 assistant district attorneys and that prosecutorial duties for District 9 be carried out by the district attorney and 2 assistant district attorneys.

STATEMENT OF FACT

There are currently 8 prosecutorial districts.

Prosecutorial District 3 consists of Androscoggin, Oxford and
Franklin Counties. This bill amends Prosecutorial District 3 so
that it consists of Androscoggin County only and creates a new
Prosecutorial District 9 covering Oxford and Franklin Counties.

District attorneys will be elected to begin serving in the new
districts in 1999.