



116th MAINE LEGISLATURE

SECOND REGULAR SESSION-1994

Legislative Document

No. 1921

H.P. 1411

House of Representatives, February 18, 1994

An Act to Redistrict the Knox County Budget Committee District.

(EMERGENCY)

Reported by Representative JOSEPH for the Secretary of State pursuant to the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 30-A, section 757.

Reference to the Joint Standing Committee on Banking and Insurance suggested and printing ordered under Joint Rule 18.

✓JOSEPH W. MAYO, Clerk

Emergency preamble. Whereas, Acts of the Legislature do not become effective until 90 days after adjournment unless enacted as emergencies; and

Whereas, current law requires the county commissioners of Knox County to prepare a redistricting plan for county budget 6 committee seats; and

Whereas, this plan must be implemented by the primary election, which may occur before the expiration of the 90-day 10 period; and

Whereas, in the judgment of the Legislature, these facts 14 create an emergency within the meaning of the Constitution of Maine and require the following legislation as immediately necessary for the preservation of the public peace, health and 16 safety; now, therefore,

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

Sec. 1. 30-A MRSA §757, as repealed and replaced by PL 1993, c. 345, §5, is repealed and the following enacted in its place: 22

§757. Budget committee membership districts 24

1. Redistricting process. The county commissioners shall 26 prepare a redistricting plan for county budget committee seats by June 1, 1993 and every 10 years thereafter. The county 28 commissioners shall submit the plan to the Secretary of State within 5 days of adoption. The Secretary of State shall 30 immediately transmit the redistricting plan to the Legislature 32 for review and enactment.

34

2

4

8

12

18

20

2. Budget committee districts. Budget committee members must be elected from districts as provided in this subsection. 36

A. District 1 consists of Isle au Haut, Matinicus Isle Plantation, North Haven, St. George and Friendship and 38 elects one member. The initial term for District 1 expires 40 on December 31, 1996.

- 42 B. District 2 consists of South Thomaston, Vinalhaven and Owls Head and elects one member. The initial term for District 2 expires on December 31, 1994. 44
- 46 C. District 3 consists of Rockland and elects 2 members at large. The initial term for District 3 expires on December 48 31, 1996.
- D. District 4 consists of that portion of Camden that is 50 north of Route 1 from the Megunticook River and elects one 52 member. The initial term for District 4 expires on December 31, 1994.

Page 1-LR3234(1)

L.D.1921

C. District 5 consists of Rockport and that portion of Ε. Camden that is south of Route 1 and from the Rockport/Camden 2 line as far as the Megunticook River and elects one member. The initial term for District 5 expires on December 31, 1996. 4 6 F. District 6 consists of Appleton, Union and Washington and elects one member. The initial term for District 6 expires on December 31, 1994. 8 10 G. District 7 consists of Warren and Hope and elects one member. The initial term for District 7 expires on December 31, 1996. H. District 8 consists of Thomaston and Cushing and elects one member. The initial term for District 8 expires on December 31, 1994. Emergency clause. In view of the emergency cited in the preamble, this Act takes effect when approved. STATEMENT OF FACT Public 1993, the Law chapter 345 required county commissioners of Knox County to prepare a redistricting plan for county budget committee seats. This bill proposes the changes contained in the county commissioners' plan. This document has not yet been reviewed to determine the for cross-reference, stylistic and other technical need amendments to conform existing law to current drafting standards.

12

14

16

18

20

22

24

26

28

30

32

34

6770