MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

L.D. 1985

	(Filing No. H-793)
4	
,6	
8	STATE OF MAINE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 115TH LEGISLATURE
10	SECOND SPECIAL SESSION
12	HOUSE AMENDMENT " K " to H.P. 1402, L.D. 1985, Bill, "An Act
14	to Make Supplemental Appropriations and Allocations for the Expenditures of State Government for the Fiscal Years Ending June
16	30, 1992 and June 30, 1993 and to Change Certain Provisions of Law"
18	Amend the bill by inserting at the end before the emergency
20	clause the following:
22	'PART OO
24	C. OO 1 4 BADCA 9152 Contact
26	Sec. OO-1. 4 MRSA $\S153$, first \P , as amended by PL 1989, c. 891, Pt. A, $\S2$, is further amended to read:
28 30	The State is divided into 30 26 judicial divisions, named and defined as follows, and with places for holding court in those divisions as follows+.
32	Sec. OO-2. 4 MRSA §153, sub-§1, as amended by PL 1979, c.
	127, §12, is repealed.
34	Sec. OO-3. 4 MRSA §153, sub-§2, as amended by PL 1971, c.
36	622, §4-A, is repealed.
38	Sec. OO-4. 4 MRSA §153, sub-§2-A is enacted to read:
40	2-A. Androscoggin. Androscoggin consists of all municipalities in Androscoggin County. The District Court for
42	Androscoggin is held at Lewiston or Auburn. The Chief Judge
44	shall determine the exact site.
46	Sec. OO-5. 4 MRSA §153, sub-§3, as amended by PL 1991, c. 121, Pt. B, §1 and affected by §18, is further amended to read:

2

	3. Western Aroostook. Western Aroostook consists of the
2	municipalities and unorganized territory known as Hamlin Plt., Cyr Plt., T17 R3, T17 R4, T16 R5, T15 R6, Winterville Plt., T15
4	R8, T15 R9, T14 R10, T14 R11, T14 R12, T14 R13, T14 R14, T14 R15, T14 R16, and all municipalities and unorganized territory in
6	Aroostook County lying to the west and north of these. The
8	District Court for Western Aroostook must be held at Madawaska, Fort-Kent-and-Van-Buren. The-presiding-judge-shall-determine-the
10	level-of-service-at-each-location.
	Sec. OO-6. 4 MRSA §153, sub-§8, as repealed and replaced by
12	PL 1989, c. 184 is repealed.
14	Sec. OO-7. 4 MRSA §153, sub-§9, as amended by PL 1969, c. 501, §1, is repealed.
16	Sec. OO-8. 4 MRSA §153, sub-§9-A is enacted to read:
18	9-A. Cumberland. Cumberland consists of all municipalities
20	in the County of Cumberland except for Brunswick, Freeport and Harpswell. The District Court for Cumberland is held at Portland.
22	Sec. OO-9. 4 MRSA §153, sub-§10-A is enacted to read:
24	10-A. Hancock. Hancock consists of the entire County of
26	Hancock. The District Court for Hancock is held at Ellsworth, except that one session per week may be held at Bucksport at the
28	discretion of the presiding judge.
30	Sec. OO-10. 4 MRSA §153, sub-§11, as amended by PL 1969, c. 458, is repealed.
32	Sec. OO-11. 4 MRSA §153, sub-§12 is repealed.
34	Sec. OO-12. 4 MRSA §153, sub-§19 is amended to read:
36	19. Northern Penobscot. Northern Penobscot consists of the
38	municipalities and unorganized territory ofHopkinsAcademy
40	Grant,Long A, Medway, TA R7, TA R8 and TA R9 and all municipalities and unorganised territory in Penobscot County
	lying-to-the-nerth-of-these in Penobscot County not within the
42	divisions of Southern and Western Penobscot. The District Court for Northern Penobscot shall-be is held at Millinesket Lincoln.
44	Sec. OO-13. 4 MRSA §153, sub-§20 is repealed.
46	Sec. OO-14. 4 MRSA §154, sub-§1, as amended by PL 1965, c.
48	228, §2, is further amended to read:
50	1. First District. The first district consists of the

(Madawaska,-Fort-Kent-and-Van-Buren).

52

2	Sec. OO-15. 4 MIKSA 9154, Sub-95 is amended to read:
4	5. Fifth District. The 5th district consists of the divisions of Gentral Hancock (Ellsworth), - Southern - Hancock - (Bar
6	Harber and Waldo (Belfast).
8	Sec. OO-16. 4 MRSA §154, sub-§8, as amended by PL 1983, c. 654, §3, is further amended to read:
10	O Picksh District The Oth district consists of the
12	8. Eighth District. The 8th district consists of the division of Southern Androscoggin (Lewiston).
14	Sec. OO-17. 4 MRSA §154, sub-§§9 and 11, as amended by PL 1965, c. 425, §3, are further amended to read:
16	9. Ninth District. The 9th district consists of the
18	divisions division of Southern Cumberland (Portland) and-Northern Cumberland-(Bridgton).
20	11. Eleventh District. The 11th district consists of the
22	11. Eleventh District. The 11th district consists of the divisions of Nerthern-Androscoggin-(Livermore-Falls), Northern Oxford (Rumford) and Southern Oxford (South Paris).
24	Sec. OO-18. 4 MRSA §154, sub-§13 is amended to read:
26	10 minutes the minutes of the state of the s
28	13. Thirteenth District. The 13th district consists of the divisions of Piscataquis (Dover-Foxcroft), and Northern Penobscot (Millineeket)-and-Gentral-Penebseet (Lincoln).
30	
32	Sec. OO-19. Appropriation. The following funds are appropriated from the General Fund to carry out the purposes of
34	this Act.
36	1991-92
	JUDICIAL DEPARTMENT
38	Courts - Supreme, Superior, District
40	and Administrative
42	Positions (-6.5)
	Personal Services (\$122,344)
44	All Other (57,815)
46	Provides for the deappropriation of funds
48	from the closing of 6 district courts.
	JUDICIAL DEPARTMENT
50	TOTAL (\$180,159)
52	EDUCATION, DEPARTMENT OF

4	General Purpose Aid for Local Schools
4	All Other \$90,080
6	Provides for an appropriation of funds to offset the reduction of the foundation and
8	minimum education subsidy for fiscal year 1991-92 contained in Part A, section 1.
10	DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
12	TOTAL \$90,080
14	TREASURER OF STATE, OFFICE OF
16	State Municipal Revenue Sharing
18	All Other \$90,079
20	Provides for an appropriation of funds to offset the reductions in Part HH. These
22	funds are to be distributed to municipalities on a monthly basis from
24	January 1992 to June 1992 in accordance with the provisions of the Maine Revised
26	Statutes, Title 30-A, section 5681, subsection 4.
28	OFFICE OF TREASURER OF STATE
30	TOTAL \$90,079
32	TOTAL APPROPRIATIONS PART OO -50-
34	
36	Further amend the bill by relettering the Parts to read consecutively.
38	
	FISCAL NOTE
40	This amendment has no net fiscal impact.
42	

HOUSE AMENDMENT "K" to H.P. 1402, L.D. 1985

STATEMENT OF FACT

2	
	This amendment reorganizes the districts and divisions of
4	the District Court to close the District Courts now located in
	Fort Kent, Van Buren, Bar Harbor, Millinocket, Livermore Falls
б	and Bridgton. The amendment applies the savings realized by the
	closings to General Purpose Aid to Education and for General
8	Revenue Sharing.

10

Filed by Rep. Richards of Hampden Reproduced and distributed under the direction of the Clerk of the House.

12/18/91

(Filing No. H-793)