MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)



114th MAINE LEGISLATURE

FIRST REGULAR SESSION - 1989

Legislative Document

No. 399

H.P. 287

House of Representatives, February 23, 1989

Reference to the Committee on State and Local Government suggested and ordered printed.

EDWIN H. PERT, Clerk

Presented by Representative SHELTRA of Biddeford.

Cosponsored by Representative LORD of Waterboro, Representative NADEAU of Saco and Representative MURPHY of Berwick.

STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED AND EIGHTY-NINE

An Act to Require 5 Commissioners in York County.



Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

Sec. 1. 30-A MRSA §61-A is enacted to read:

§61-A. York County

5

7

11

27

29

31

33

35

37

39

41

43

45

47

49

51

- Notwithstanding section 61, there shall be a Board of Commissioners for York County consisting of a chair and 4 other citizens. All other provisions of section 101 shall apply to York County.
- Sec. 2. 30-A MRSA §66, sub-§16, ¶B, as enacted by PL 1987, c. 737, Pt. A, §2 and Pt. C, §106, is amended to read:
- Commissioner District Number 15 2 consists Biddeford, municipalities Arundel, Kennebunk, οf Kennebunkport, Ogunquit, Wells and York. 17 The term of office of the commissioner from this district shall expire in 1990 19 and every 4 2 years thereafter.
- Sec. 3. York County Apportionment Commission. No later than October 15, 1989, the York County legislative delegation shall appoint a York County Apportionment Commission which shall consist of 4 residents of the county, two of whom are registered members of the Democratic Party and two of whom are registered members of the Republican Party.

The apportionment commission shall apportion York County county commissioner districts. The chair of delegation is responsible for calling the commission together no later than November 15, 1989, and shall act as chair until the commission elects its own chair at its first meeting. commission may take no action without a quorum of 3. commission shall follow the proceedings of Title 30-A, section 65, so far as applicable. It shall include in its plan when the term of office of each district commissioner is to expire. may include in its plan a recommendation for an earlier effective in commissioner date for the increase districts a legally acceptable provision recommendation includes dealing with persons who hold county commissioner office at the time recommended for the increased district plan to take effect.

The commission shall submit its apportionment plan to the legislative delegation no later than January 1, 1990. The delegation shall submit its plan to the Clerk of the House no later than February 1, 1990. This submission shall indicate any areas of disagreement with the commission. The Clerk of the House shall submit to the Legislature no later than February 15, 1990, a legislative document to reapportion York County into 5 commissioner districts based on the plan submitted by the apportionment commission.

Sec. 4. Effective Date. Section 1 of this bill shall take effect January 1, 1993.

3

5

1

STATEMENT OF FACT

7 bill changes the required number of commissioners in York County from 3 to 5. It revises the terms of office so that all terms will expire in 1992 and makes the 9 change in the number of commissioner districts effective as of that time. It sets up an apportionment commission consisting of 11 2 Democrats and 2 Republicans to be selected by the legislative This commission is to determine the boundaries of 13 the new district alignment and make a report to the Clerk of the House in the same manner as done in the apportionment review 15 which is required for all counties every 10 years.