MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

1	L.D. 399
3	(Filing No. H-204)
5	
7	STATE OF MAINE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES
9 -	114TH LEGISLATURE FIRST REGULAR SESSION
11	
13	COMMITTEE AMENDMENT "A" to H.P. 287, L.D. 399, Bill, "A
15	Act to Require 5 Commissioners in York County"
17	Amend the bill in section 1, in that part designated "S61-A." in the 4th line (page 1, line 9 in L.D.) by striking out
19	the following: "101 shall" and inserting in its place the following: '61'
21	Further amend the bill by striking out everything after section 1 and before the statement of fact and inserting in it:
23	place the following:
25	'Sec. 2. 30-A MRSA §66, sub-§16, ¶¶A and C, as enacted by PI 1987, c. 737, Pt. A, §2 and Pt. C, §106, and as amended by PI
27	1989, cc. 6 and 9, are further amended to read:
29	A. Commissioner District Number 1 consists of the municipalities of Acton, Berwick, Buxton, Cornish, Eliot,
31	Hollis, Kittery, Lebanon, Limerick, Limington, Newfield, North Berwick, Parsonsfield and South Berwick. The term of
33	office of the commissioner from this district shall expired in 1988 1992 and every 4 2 years thereafter.
35	•
37	C. Commissioner District Number 3 consists of the municipalities of Alfred, Dayton, Lyman, Old Orchard Beach,
39	Saco, Sanford, Shapleigh and Waterboro. The term of office of the commissioner from this district shall expire in 1988
41	1992 and every 4 2 years thereafter.
43	Sec. 3. Apportionment. Notwithstanding the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 30-A, section 61, when the county commissioner
. J	districts are reapportioned in 1993, as provided under Title
45	30-A, section 65, the apportionment commission shall apportion York County into 5 commissioner districts and shall include in
47	its apportionment plan the initial terms of office for each commissioner district. The apportionment commission shall

COMMITTEE AMENDMENT "A" to H.P. 287, L.D. 399

1	designate 2 commissioner districts which shall have 2-year terms and 3 commissioner districts which shall have 4-year terms. All
3	subsequent terms shall be for 4 years.
5	Sec. 4. Effective date. Section 1 of this Act takes effect on
	January 1, 1995. Sections 2 and 3 of this Act take effect on
7	January 1, 1990.'
9	
11	STATEMENT OF FACT
13	This amendment corrects a typographical error and delays the implementation of the bill to avoid multiple reapportionments of
15	commissioner districts in York County. Under the amendment, the required decennial reapportionment will apportion York County
17	into the required 5 commissioner districts in 1993. York County voters will elect the required 5 county commissioners according
19	to the reapportioned districts in the fall of 1994 and the newly elected commissioners will take office on January 1, 1995.
21	

Reported by the Committee on State and Local Government
Reproduced and distributed under the direction of the Clerk of the
House
5/16/89
(Filing No. H-204)