

## (After Deadline) FIRST REGULAR SESSION

## ONE HUNDRED AND THIRTEENTH LEGISLATURE

# Legislative Document

1 2

3 4

5

NO. 1131

H.P. 840 House of Representatives, April 7, 1987 Approved for introduction by a majority of the Legislative Council pursuant to Joint Rule 27.

Reference to the Committee on State and Local Government suggested and ordered printed.

EDWIN H. PERT, Clerk

Presented by Representative STEVENSON of Unity. Cosponsored by Representatives WHITCOMB of Waldo, MARSANO of Belfast and ALLEN of Washington.

### STATE OF MAINE

## IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED AND EIGHTY-SEVEN

AN ACT Relating to the Membership of the Waldo County Budget Committee.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

6 Sec. 1. 30 MRSA §1403, sub-§1, as repealed and 7 replaced by PL 1985, c. 737, Pt. A, §85, is amended 8 to read:

9 1. <u>Membership</u>. The budget committee shall consist of 9 members, 3 members from each commissioner district selected as provided for in this section and 3 county commissioners who shall serve on the committee in an advisory capacity only and shall not vote on any committee matters.

Page 1-LR2064

In 1985 1988, and thereafter, at least 90 days prior to the end of every other fiscal year, the 9 members shall be elected by the following procedure.

4

5

6 7

8 9 10

11 12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21 22

23

24

25

26

27 28

29

30

31 32

33

34 35 36

37

38 39

40

41

42 43

44

45

The county commissioners shall notify all mu-Α. nicipal officers in the county to caucus by county commissioner districts at a specified date, time and place for the purpose of nominating at least 3 one municipal officers officer from each district as candidates a candidate for the county budget committee; except that in 1988, at least 3 municipal officers shall be nominated from each The county commissioners shall serve district. nonvoting moderators for their district cauas Nominations shall be received from cuses. floor. The 3-nominees nominee receiving the most votes shall be approved. Any other nominees who receive a majority vote of those present shall The names of those duly apalso be approved. proved shall be recorded and forwarded to the county commissioners to be placed on a written ballot.

The county commissioners shall have written в. ballots printed with the names of those candidates selected in their districts in accordance with paragraph A. The county commissioners shall distribute these ballots to each municipality. Each commissioner district shall require a sepaeach ballot shall specify each rate ballot and candidate's full name and municipality. The municipal officers shall vote as a board for 3 one budget committee members member from the candidates on the ballot and return the ballot to the county commissioners by a certain date; except that in 1988, the municipal officers shall vote as a board for 3 budget committee members. The ballots shall be counted at a regular meeting of the county commissioners. Each vote shall be weighed according to that municipality's population as a proportion of the district's total pophave ulation, except that no municipality may more than one budget committee member. The county commissioners shall notify each municipality, in writing, of the results of the election and shall certify the results to the Secretary of State.

Page 2-LR2064

Sec. 2. 30 MRSA \$1403, sub-\$3, as repealed and replaced by PL 1985, c. 737, Pt. A, §85, is repealed and the following enacted to read:

3. Term of office. The term of office shall be 3 years, provided that a budget committee member remains a municipal officer in his municipality; except that of those elected in 1988, one from each district shall be elected for a term of 3 years; one from each district shall be elected for a term of 2 years; and one from each district shall be elected for a term of one year.

#### STATEMENT OF FACT

13The bill provides for staggered terms for the14Waldo County budget committee members.

15

1

2 3

45

б

7 8 9

10 11

12

2064033087

Page 3-LR2064