

1	L.D. 291
2	(Filing No. H-127)
3 4 5 6	STATE OF MAINE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 113TH LEGISLATURE FIRST REGULAR SESSION
7 8	HOUSE AMENDMENT " \hat{A} " to H.P. 223, L.D. 291, Bill, "AN ACT to Establish the Deer Season."
9 10 11 12	Amend the bill in section 2 in paragraph H in the 5th line (page 2, line 5 in L.D.) by inserting after the underlined word "taken" the following: 'in any zone as set out in subsection 3'
13 14	Further amend the bill by inserting before the Statement of Fact the following:
15 16	'Sec. 3. 12 MRSA §7457, sub-§3 is enacted to read:
17 18	3. Zones. There are established the following 4 deer hunting zones.
19 20 21 22 23	A. The northern zone consists of the area of the State north of the Canadian Pacific Railway mainline tracks from Vanceboro through Danforth, Mattawamkeag, Brownville Junction, Greenville and Jackman to the border at Beattie Township.
24 25 26 27 28 29	B. The southwestern zone consists of the area of the State south of the northern zone and located generally west and south of the following bounda- ry, including all islands located in Phippsburg and Bath, Sagadahoc County and all islands lo- cated in Cumberland and York Counties: Beginning
30 31 32 33 34 35	at a point where the Kennebec River meets the At- lantic Ocean; then following northerly along the main channel of the Kennebec River to West Chops Point in Merrymeeting Bay; then following south- erly along the southeast shore of Merrymeeting Bay to the Androscoggin River, then following generally northwesterly along the southwest side
36 37	of the Androscoggin River to the Route 4 bridge

-

HOUSE AMENDMENT "A" to H.P. 223, L.D. 291

1	in Livermore; then following northerly along
2	Route 4 to Route 27 in Farmington; then following
	northerly along Route 27 to eastbound Route 234
4	in New Vineyard; then following easterly along
5	Route 234 to Route 201-A in North Anson; then
3 4 5 6 7	following northerly along Route 201-A to Route
7	201 in Solon; then following northerly along
8	Route 201 to the Canadian Pacific Railway
9	mainline track in Jackman; then following wester-
10	ly along the Canadian Pacific Railway mainline to
11	the Maine-Quebec boarder in Beattie Township.
12	C. The southeastern zone consists of the area of
13	the State south of the northern zone and located
14	generally east and south of the following bounda-
15	ry, including all islands located in Hancock and
16	Washington Counties: Beginning at a point where
17	the Penobscot River meets the Atlantic Ocean;
18	then following northerly along the main channel
19	of the Penobscot River to the Route 9 bridge in
20	Brewer; then following easterly along Route 9 to
21	Stoney Brook in Baileyville, Washington County;
22	then following northeasterly along the main chan-
23	nel of Stoney Brook to the St. Croix River which
24	is the Maine-New Brunswick border.
25	D. The south central zone consists of the area
26	of the State south of the northern zone located
27	east of the southwestern zone and west and north

• · · · ·

27 <u>east of the southwestern zone and west and north</u> 28 <u>of the southeastern zone.</u>

.

2-

HOUSE AMENDMENT "A" to H.P. 223, L.D. 291

1STATEMENT OF FACT2This amendment establishes 4 deer hunting zones:3The northern zone; the southwestern zone; the south-4eastern zone; and the south central zone. The amend-5ment also provides that the commissioner may restrict6the taking of antlerless deer in any of these zones.72768051187

Filed by Rep. Smith of Island Falls Reproduced and distributed under the direction of the Clerk of the House 5/14/87 (Filing No. H-127)