

		FIRST	REGUI	LAR SE	SSION		
	ONE H	UNDRED A	AND TV	VELFTH	I LEGI:	SLATURE	
Legislativ	e Docume	ent					No. 22
H.P. 194			Ηοι	ise of R	epresent	atives, Jai	nuary 29, 198
Refere and ordere		Committe	ee on Lo	ocal and	County	Governm	ent suggested
					Ε	DWIN H	PERT, Cler
Presented Cospo Washingto	nsored by	Represent	ative Vo	se of E	astport,		Brown of
		ST	ATE OF	MAIN	ΙE		
	NINE	IN THE IEEN HUI					
		to Prov tricts					r
Be it en follows:		by the l	People	e of t	he Sta	ate of	Maine as
Sec. read:	. 1. 30	D MRSA	§105	5 -W ,	sub-§]	L6 is e	nacted to
							missioner
the foll				inty	Snall	be div	ided into
Α.							isting of
							tories of
							ship Vot-
		ct, uno: v T9 R4					T8 R4, Brookton
							ossuth T7
R2,	T6 R1.	Dyer T	1 R2,	Fowle	r T1 H	$\frac{1}{1}, T5$	ND, T6
ND,	T42 I	MD, T4:	3 MD,	T27 E	D, T36	5 MD, T	37 MD and
T26	ED, Van	nceboro	, Cody	ville	Plar	tation	

1Talmadge,
PlantationGrand
LakeStream
Plantation,
Baileyville,2Plantation
Number21,
Princeton,
Baileyville,
Alexander,
Crawford,
Meddybemps
and
Baring
Plantation;

5 B. Commissioner District Number 2, consisting of 6 the municipalities and unorganized territories of East Machias, Machiasport, Northfield, Robbinston, Perry, Charlotte, Wesley, Cooper, 7 8 Plantation Number 14, Dennysville, Whiting, 9 Cutler, unorganized territories of T30 MD, T31 10 11 MD, T25 MD, T19 ED, T18 ED and Marion, Edmunds and Trescott, Lubec, Pembroke, Pleasant Point Voting District and Eastport; and 12 13

14 C. Commissioner District Number 3, consisting of 15 the municipalities and unorganized territories of Deblois, Cherryfield, Steuben, Milbridge, Harrington, Addison, Jonesport, Beals, 16 17 Beddington, Columbia. Columbia Falls, Center-18 ville, Jonesboro, Roque Bluffs, Whitneyville, Marshfield and Machias and unorganized territo-19 20 21 ries of Deveraux T29 MD, T24 MD, T18 MD and T19 22 MD.

23 Members of the board of commissioners shall be resi-24 dents of the commissioner district from which they 25 were elected and shall be elected by the qualified 26 voters of that district.

Sec. 2. Referendum; certificate to Secretary of 27 28 State. The Washington County Commissioners shall submit this bill to the legal voters of Washington 29 30 County by ballot at the next general election in the 31 month of November or at a special election on the Tuesday following the first Monday of November fol-32 33 lowing the passage of this bill, whichever comes 34 first.

35 The Washington County Board of Commissioners are 36 authorized to expend such funds as are necessary to 37 implement the referendum.

38 The county clerk shall prepare the required bal-39 lots on which he shall state the subject matter of 40 this bill in the following question: 1 "Shall Washington County be divided into 3 county 2 commissioner districts each to elect 1 county commis-3 sioner who must be a resident of that district?"

4 The voters shall indicate by a cross or a check 5 mark placed against the words "Yes" or "No" their 6 opinion of the same.

7 Sections 1 and 3 of this bill shall take effect 8 for all the purposes hereof immediately upon its ac-9 ceptance by a majority of the legal voters voting at 10 that election; provided that the total number of votes cast for and against the acceptance of this 11 12 bill equals or exceeds 10% of the total votes for all 13 candidates for Governor cast in the next previous gubernatorial election in that county. 14

15 The results of the election shall be declared by 16 the Washington County Board of Commissioners and due 17 certificates thereof filed by the county clerk with 18 the Secretary of State.

19 Sec. 3. Transition. The transition of the Wash-20 ington County District System shall be made in the 21 following manner. In 1986, a commissioner resident 22 of Commissioner District Number 1 shall be elected by 23 the qualified electors of that district. In 1986, а 24 commissioner resident of Commissioner District Number 25 shall be elected by the qualified electors of that 2 26 district. In 1988, a commissioner resident of Com-27 missioner District Number 3 shall be elected by the 28 qualified electors of that district. Thereafter, 29 elections shall continue in a manner so that each 30 district shall at all times have a commissioner 31 elected from that district on the board.

STATEMENT OF FACT

Public Law 1979, chapter 308 enacted the bill to
provide County Commission Districts in Washington
County. This bill was not passed by the voters in
the referendum that the act required.

32

37 The purpose of this bill is to provide for 3 38 County Commission Districts in Washington County, 1 each district to elect 1 commissioner who must be a
2 resident of that district.

3

1407012485

Page 4-L.D. 228