

L.D. 1950

1

(Filing No. H-456)

STATE OF MAINE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 111TH LEGISLATURE SECOND REGULAR SESSION

HOUSE AMENDMENT "B" to H.P. 1487, L.D. 1950,
Bill, "AN ACT to Provide for Reapportionment of County Commissioner Districts."

10 Amend the Bill in section 2, subsection 1, by 11 striking out all of paragraph A (page 1, lines 29 to 12 32 and page 2, lines 1 to 28 in L.D.) and inserting 13 in its place the following:

14 'A. Commissioner District Number 1, in the County of Androscoggin, consists of the municipali-ties of Green, Leeds, Lisbon, Livermore, Livermore Falls, Sabattus, Turner, Wales and that 15 16 17 18 portion of the City of Lewiston described as follows: Beginning on College Road at the Greene 19 town line; thence in a general southeasterly di-20 21 rection along the Greene town line to Old Greene Road; thence in a general southwesterly direction along Old Green Road to North Temple Street; thence in a general southwesterly direction along North Temple Street to Sabattus Street; thence in a general westerly direction along Sabattus Street to Nichols Street; thence in a general mertheogeneral direction along North 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 northeasterly direction along Nichols Street to 29 Holland Street; thence in a general northwesterly 30 direction along Holland Street to College Street; 31 thence in a general northeasterly direction along 32 College Street to the point of beginning. Not-33 withstanding the provisions of section 105-V, 34 subsection 3, the term of office of the county commissioner from this district shall expire in 35 36 1984, in 1986 and every 4 years thereafter.

Further amend the Bill in section 2, subsection 1, by striking out all of paragraph C (page 2, lines 37 to 45 and page 3, lines 1 to 21 in L.D.) and in-

2

3

4 5

6

37

38

39

HOUSE AMENDMENT " β " to H.P. 1487, L.D. 1950

1	serting	in	its	place	the	following	:
---	---------	----	-----	-------	-----	-----------	---

2	C. Commissioner District Number 3, in the Coun-
3	ty of Androscoggin, consists of all of the City
4	of Lewiston, excepting that portion as described
5	in County Commissioner District Number 1. Not-
6	withstanding the provisions of section 105-V,
7	subsetion 3, the term of office of the county
8	commissioner from this district shall expire in
9	1984 and every 4 years thereafter.

Further amend the Bill in section 2, in subsection 8, paragraph A in the 3rd line (page 7, line 38 in L.D.) by striking out the underlined words "Wiscasset and Westport" and inserting in their place the following: 'Westport and Wiscasset'

Further amend the Bill by inserting at the end before the statement of fact the following:

17 'Sec. 3. 30 MRSA §105-X is enacted to read:

18 §105-X. Residency and election of county commission-19 ers

Members of each board of commissioners created 20 under section 105-W shall be residents of the commis-21 22 sioner district which they represent and shall be 23 elected by the qualified voters of that district, ex-24 cept that members of the Piscataquis County Board of Commissioners shall be residents of the commissioner 25 district which they represent and shall be elected at 26 27 large by the qualified voters of the county.

2-

HOUSE AMENDMENT " β " to H.P. 1487, L.D. 1950

1

9

STATEMENT OF FACT

The purpose of this amendment is to reinstate the provision dealing with the residency of county commissioners which was inadvertently omitted from the original bill. This amendment also corrects the alphabetical listing of 2 municipalities in Lincoln County. This amendment also corrects the discription of Androscoggin County.

5656012584

Filed by Rep. Kelleher of Bangor Reproduced and distributed under the direction of the Clerk of the House 1/26/84 (Filing No. H-456)

3-