MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

		FIRST F	FIRST REGULAR SESSION				
	ONE HUNI	DRED ANI	O ELEVE	NTH	LEGISLA'	TURE	
Legislativ	e Documen	it					No. 683
H.P. 530			House of	f Repr	esentatives.	, February	10, 1983
Referr ordered pri	ed to the Co inted.	ommittee o	n Agricul	ture, s	ent up for	concurrenc	e and
					EDWI	N H. PER	T, Clerk
Cospo	oy Represent nsors: Senat Representa	or Erwin o	of Oxford	, Repr	esentative S	Sherburne o	of
		STAT	re of M	AINE			
		IN THE SEN HUNI			LORD GHTY-THI	REE	
		to Amer servatio			and Wat s' Law.	ter	
Be it er	nacted by	y the Pe	eople o	of th	e State	of Main	ie as
Sec	. 1. 12	MRSA	§3, su	ıb-§4	is ame	nded to	read:
4.	Land occ	cupier.	"Land	occu	pier" d	or "occ	upier
of land'	" include	es any p	person,	fir	m or com	rporatio	n who
	nold tit ds exeem					ossessio and was	
	and lyir						
	hapter, or otherw		r as	owne	r, less	see, re	nter,
	. 2. 12	MRSA	§51,	3rd	¶, as	repeale	d and
replaced	d by PL I	l975, c.	. 172,	is a	mended 1	to read:	

The area representatives first elected from Areas 1 and 4, shall be initially elected for a 1-year term; those from Areas 2 and 5 shall be initially elected for a 2-year term; those from Areas 3 and 6 shall be initially elected for a 3-year term. All subsequent elections shall be for a 3-year term. Area representatives may serve beyond their elected terms until their successors are elected and qualified.

10 Sec. 3. 12 MRSA §53, as amended by PL 1969, c. 11 477, §1, is further amended to read:

1

2

3

4 5

6

7 8

9

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22 23

24

25 26

27 28 29

30

31 32

33 34

35

36

37 38

39

40

§ 53. Officers; terms; quorum; compensation; records

The commission shall elect one of its members to chairman and may, from time to time, change such designation. An ex officio member of the commission shall hold office so long as he shall hold the office by virtue of which he is serving on the commission. The elected members of the commission shall serve for a term of 4 years from the date of their election and until their successors have been elected and qualified, except that of those first elected, the representatives from areas one, 2, 3 and 4 shall serve for terms of one, 2, 3 and 4 years, respectively. Upon the expiration of the term of office of, or in the case of a vacancy in, the office of an elected member, his successor shall be elected in the same manner, and from the same area, as the retiring member was elected. A majority of the commission shall constitute a quorum, and the concurrence of majority of the said quorum in any matter within their duties shall be required for its determination. The chairman and members of the commission receive no compensation for their services on the commission, but shall be entitled to expenses, including traveling expenses, necessarily incurred in discharge of their duties on the commission, if and when funds are available. The commission shall provide for the keeping of an accurate record of all proceedings and of all resolutions, regulations and orders issued or adopted.

 Section 1 eliminates the restriction in existing law which prohibits the state's 16 soil and water conservation districts from providing services to owners of "land suitable for and used as timberland." Sections 2 and 3 resolve a contradiction between Title 12, sections 51 and 53 as to whether the elected members of the Soil and Water Conservation Commission should serve 3-year or 4-year terms once the staggered-term system for initial commission membership has gone into effect and also insures that no gap in commission membership can occur between the expiration of a commissioner's term and the election and qualification of his successor. This bill requires no additional funding.

16 0043112382