MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

ONE HUNDRED AND EIGHTH LEGISLATURE

Legislative Document

No. 1359

H. P. 1225 House of Representatives, April 6, 1977 Reported by Mrs. Martin from the Committee on Local and County Government, and printed under Joint Rules No. 2.

EDWIN H. PERT, Clerk

STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED SEVENTY-SEVEN

AN ACT to Provide County Commissioner Districts in Washington County.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

Sec. 1. 30 MRSA § 105-H is enacted to read:

§ 105-H. Creation of Washington County Commissioner Districts

Washington County shall be divided into the following 3 districts:

Commissioner District number 1, consisting of the municipalities and unorganized territories of Calais, Danforth, unorganized territories of T8 R4, Forest City T9 R4, Forest T10 R3, T8 R3, Brookton Township, T11 R3, Lambert Lake T1 R3, Kossuth T7 R2, T6 R1, Dyer T1 R2, Fowler T1 R1, T5 ND, T6 ND, T42 MD, T43 MD, T27 ED, T36 MD, T37 MD and T26 ED, Vanceboro, Codyville Plantation, Waite, Talmadge, Grand Lake Stream Plantation, Plantation Number 21, Princeton, Baileyville, Alexander, Crawford, Meddybemps and Unorganized Territory of Baring.

Commissioner District number 2, consisting of the municipalities and unorganized territories of East Machias, Machiasport, Northfield, Robbinston, Perry, Charlotte, Wesley, Cooper, Plantation Number 14, Dennysville, Whiting, Cutler, unorganized territories of T30 MD, T31 MD, T25 MD, T19 ED, T18 ED and Marion Edmonds and Trescott, Lubec, Pembroke and Eastport.

Commissioner District number 3, consisting of the municipalities and unorganized territories of Deblois, Cherryfield, Steuben, Milbridge, Harrington, Addison, Jonesport, Beals, Beddington, Columbia, Columbia Falls, Centerville, Jonesboro, Roque Bluffs, Whitneyville, Marshfield and Machias and unorganized territories of Deveraux T29 MD, T24 MD, T18 MD and T19 MD.

Members of the board of commissioners shall be residents of the commissioner district from which they were elected and shall be elected by the qualified voters of that district.

Sec. 2. Transition. The transition of the Washington County district system shall be made in the following manner: In 1978, a commissioner resident of Commissioner District number 3 shall be elected by the qualified electors of that district. In 1980, a commissioner resident of Commissioner District number 2 shall be elected by the qualified electors of that district. In 1980, a commissioner resident of Commissioner District number 1 shall be elected by the qualified electors of that district. Thereafter, elections shall continue in a manner so that each district shall at all times have a commissioner elected from that district on the board.

STATEMENT OF FACT

The purpose of this bill is to provide county commissioner districts in Washington County.