MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

ONE HUNDRED AND EIGHTH LEGISLATURE

Legislative Document

No. 57

H. P. 40

Referred to the Committee on Local and County Government. Sent up for concurrence and ordered printed.

EDWIN H. PERT, Clerk

Presented by Mr. Jensen of Portland.

Cosponsors: Mr. Higgins of Scarborough, Mr. Tarr of Bridgton, and Ms. Bachrach of Brunswick.

STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED SEVENTY-SEVEN

AN ACT Establishing County Commissioner Districts in Cumberland County.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

Sec. 1. 30 MRSA § 105-R is enacted to read:

§ 105-R. Creation of Cumberland County Commissioner Districts

Cumberland County shall be divided into the following 3 districts:

Commissioner District number 1, consisting of the municipality of Portland.

Commissioner District number 2, consisting of the municipalities of Cape Elizabeth, Cumberland, Falmouth, Scarborough, South Portland and Westbrook.

Commissioner District number 3, consisting of the municipalities of Baldwin, Bridgton, Brunswick, Casco, Freeport, Gorham, Gray, Harpswell, Harrison, Naples, New Glocester, North Yarmouth, Otisfield, Pownal, Raymond, Sebago, Standish, Windham and Yarmouth.

Each member of the board of commissioners shall be a resident of the commissioner district for which he is elected and shall be elected by the qualified electors of that district.

Sec. 2. Transition. The transition to the Cumberland County district system shall be made in the following manner. In 1978 a commissioner resident of Commissioner District number 2 and a commissioner resident of

Commissioner District number 3 shall be elected by the qualified electors of those respective districts. In 1980 a commissioner resident of Commissioner District number 1 shall be elected by the qualified electors of that district. Thereafter, elections shall continue in a manner so that each district shall at all times have a commissioner elected from that district on the board.

STATEMENT OF FACT

This bill will establish County Commissioner Districts for Cumberland County.