

Legislative Document

ONE HUNDRED AND SEVENTH LEGISLATURE

H. P. 1836 Referred to the Committee on Local and County Government. Sent up for concurrence and ordered printed.

Presented by Mr. Palmer of Nobleboro.

EDWIN H. PERT, Clerk

STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED SEVENTY-SIX

AN ACT to Provide Fire Protection, Other than Forest Fire Protection, for the Unorganized Coastal Islands.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

30 MRSA § 1201, 1st sentence, as last amended by PL 1975, c. 278, is further amended to read:

The county commissioners of Aroostook County are authorized, on behalf of the inhabitants of Connor and Silver Ridge Townships, of Township 8, R.4, Township 10, R.6, Township 14, R.6, Township 15, R.6, Township 16, R.4, Township 16, R.6, Township 17, R.4 and Township 17, R.5, and the county commissioners of Franklin County are authorized, on behalf of Township 3, R.2, BKPWKR (Jerusalem), Township 4, R.2, BKPWKR (Sugarloaf Township) and the Townships of Salem and Freeman, and the county commissioners of Hancock County are authorized, on behalf of the inhabitants of Township 8, S.D., and the unorganized coastal islands of that county, and the county commissioners of Knox County are authorized, on behalf of the inhabitants of the unorganized coastal islands of that county, and the county commissioners of Lincoln County are authorized, on behalf of the inhabitants of the unorganized coastal islands of that county, and the county commissioners of Oxford County are authorized on behalf of the inhabitants of Albany and Milton Townships, and the county commissioners of Penobscot County are authorized, on behalf of the inhabitants of Argyle and Kingman Townships and the county commissioners of Somerset County are authorized on behalf of the inhabitants of Rockwood Township, and the county commissioners of Waldo County are authorized on behalf of the inhabitants of the unorganized coastal islands of that county, and the county commissioners of

Washington County are authorized on behalf of the inhabitants of the unorganized coastal islands of that county to enter into contracts on such terms as they deem fit with one or more persons, associations or municipalities, or to take such other steps as they deem advisable, to provide fire protection, other than forest fire protection, for the Townships of Connor, Silver Ridge, Township 8, R.4, Township 10, R.6, Township 14, R.6, Township 15, R.6, Township 16, R.4, Township 16, R.6, Township 17, R.4, Township 17, R.5, Township 3, R.2 (Jerusalem), Township 4, R.2 (Sugarloaf Township), Township 8, S.D., Salem, Freeman, Albany, Milton, Argyle, Kingman, and Rockwood and the unorganized coastal islands of Hancock, Knox, Lincoln, Waldo and Washington counties.

STATEMENT OF FACT

The purpose of this bill is to provide fire protection, other than forest fire protection, for the unorganized coastal islands.