MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

FIRST SPECIAL SESSION

ONE HUNDRED AND SEVENTH LEGISLATURE

Legislative Document

No. 1985

H. P. 1824 House of Representatives, January 19, 1976 Referred to the Committee on Local and County Government. Sent up for concurrence and ordered printed.

EDWIN H. PERT, Clerk

Presented by Mrs. Post of Owls Head.

STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED SEVENTY-SIX

AN ACT to Redistrict Certain Towns in Knox County.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

30 MRSA § 105-T, 2nd, 3rd and 4th ¶¶, as enacted by PL 1975, c. 405, § 1, are amended to read:

Commissioner District number 1, consisting of the municipalities of Rockland and, Owls Head and St. George;

Commissioner District number 2, consisting of the municipalities of Cushing, Friendship, Isle Au Haut, Matinicus Plantation, Warren, St. George South Thomaston, Thomaston, and Vinalhaven and North Haven;

Commissioner District number 3, consisting of the municipalities of Appleton, Camden, Hope, Union, Rockport and Washington and North Haven;

STATEMENT OF FACT

North Haven is currently included in Knox County Commissioner District Number 3. However, because North Haven is an island community with close ties, geographical proximity and a greater community interest with the towns of Commissioner District Number 2, this bill places it within District 2. This bill also puts the Town of St. George into County Commissioner District number 1.