

ONE HUNDRED AND SEVENTH LEGISLATURE

Legislative Document

No. 1706

EDWIN H. PERT, Clerk

H. P. 1373 House of Representatives, April 4, 1975 Referred to Committee on Local and County Government. Sent up for concurrence and ordered printed.

Presented by Mrs. Post of Owls Head.

STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED SEVENTY-FIVE

AN ACT Creating Knox County Commissioner Districts.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

30 MRSA § 105-P is enacted to read:

§ 105-P. Creation of Knox County Commissioner Districts

Knox County shall be divided into the following 3 districts:

Commissioner District number 1, consisting of the municipalities of Cushing, Friendship, Isle Au Haut, Matinicus Plantation, North Haven, Owls Head, St. George, South Thomaston, Thomaston and Vinalhaven;

Commissioner District number 2 consisting of the municipalities of Rockland and Rockport;

Commissioner District number 3, consisting of the municipalities of Appleton, Camden, Hope, Union, Warren and Washington.

Members of the board of commissioners shall be residents of the commissioner district which they represent and shall be elected by the qualified electors of the county.

Sec. 2. Transition. The transition to the Knox County district system shall be made in the following manner: In 1976, a commissioner shall be elected by the qualified electors of the county to represent district I. In 1978, a commissioner shall be elected by the qualified electors of the county to represent district 2. In 1980, a commissioner shall be elected by the qualified electors of the county to represent district 3. Thereafter, elections shall con-

tinue in a manner so that each district shall at all times be represented on the board of commissioners.

STATEMENT OF FACT

The purpose of this bill is to establish districts for the Knox County Board of Commissioners.

2