MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

ONE HUNDRED AND SEVENTH LEGISLATURE

Legislative Document

No. 1281

H. P. 1002 House of Representatives, March 20, 1975
Referred to Committee on Local and County Government. Sent up for concurrence and ordered printed.

EDWIN H. PERT, Clerk

Presented by Mr. Morton of Farmington. Cosponsor: Mr. Maxwell of Jay.

STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED SEVENTY-FIVE

AN ACT Creating Franklin County Commissioner Districts.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

Sec. 1. 30 MRSA § 105-Q is enacted to read:

§ 105-Q. Creation of Franklin County Commissioner Districts

Franklin County shall be divided into the 3 following districts:

Commissioner District number one, consisting of the municipalities of Jay and Wilton:

Commissioner District number 2, consisting of the municipalities of Chesterville, Farmington, Industry and New Sharon;

Commissioner District number 3, consisting of the municipalities of Avon, Carthage, Coplin Plt., Dallas Plt., Eustis, Kingfield, Madrid, New Vineyard, Phillips, Rangeley, Rangeley Plt., Sandy River Plt., Strong, Temple, Weld and Unorganized Territories.

Members of the board of commissioners shall be residents of the Commissioner District for which they are elected and shall be elected by the residents of that district.

Sec. 2. Transition. The transition to the Franklin County District system shall be made in the following manner: In 1976 a commissioner shall be elected from district number two by the qualified electors of that district. In 1978 a commissioner from district number 3 shall be elected by the qualified electors of that district. In 1980 a commissioner from district number 1 shall

be elected by the qualified electors of that district. Thereafter, elections shall continued in a manner so that each district shall have on the board of commissioners a resident of that district elected by the voters of that district.

STATEMENT OF FACT

The purpose of this bill is to establish county commissioner districts for Franklin County.