## MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

## STATE OF MAINE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 107TH LEGISLATURE

COMMITTEE AMENDMENT "A" to H.P. 997, L.D. 1260, Bill, "AN ACT to Establish County Commissioner Districts in Lincoln County."

Amend said Bill by striking out all of section 1 and inserting in place thereof the following:

- 'Sec. 1. 30 MRSA §105-S is enacted to read:
- § 105-S. Creation of Lincoln County Commissioner Districts

Lincoln County shall be divided into the following 3 districts:

Commissioner District number 1, consisting of the municipalities of Boothbay, Boothbay Harbor, Southport, Wiscasset and Westport;

Commissioner District number 2, consisting of the municipalities of Waldoboro, Bristol, Bremen, Nobleboro, South Bristol and Monhegan Plantation;

Commissioner District number 3, consisting of the municipalities of Alna, Damariscotta, Dresden, Edgecomb, Jefferson, Newcastle, Somerville and Whitefield.

Further amend said Bill in section 2 by striking out all of the last sentence and inserting in place thereof the following:

'In 1980, the county commissioner shall be elected from District 3 for a term of 6 years. Thereafter elections shall continue in a manner so that each district shall at all times have a commissioner resident in the district and elected by the district on the board of commissioners.'

## Statement of Fact

The purpose of this amendment is to change the towns in each district to provide more compact and contiguous districts and to make clarifying changes in the transition clause.

Reported by the Committee on Local and County Government.

Reproduced and distributed under the direction of the Clerk of the House. 5/13/75

(Filing No. H-310)