# MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

#### ONE HUNDRED AND SEVENTH LEGISLATURE

### Legislative Document

No. 680

H. P. 552 House of Representatives, February 18, 1975 Referred to Committee on Local and County Government. Sent up for concurrence and ordered printed

EDWIN H. PERT, Clerk

Presented by Mr. Jensen of Portland. Cosponsor: Mrs. Clark of Freeport.

#### STATE OF MAINE

## IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED SEVENTY-FIVE

AN ACT to Provide for County Commissioner Districts in Cumberland County and to Provide Four-Year Terms for Cumberland County Commissioners.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

Sec. 1. 30 MRSA § 102, 2nd sentence is repealed and the following enacted in place thereof:

Except in Cumberland County where the terms shall be 4 years, the terms of office for a county commissioner shall be 6 years, except when one is elected to fill out an unexpired term when it shall be for the remainder of the unexpired term.

- Sec. 2. 30 MRSA § 105-P is enacted to read:
- § 105-P. Creation of Cumberland County Commissioner Districts

Cumberland County shall be divided into the following 3 districts:

Commissioner District number 1, consisting of the municipality of Portland;

Commissioner District number 2, consisting of the municipalities of Cape Elizabeth, Cumberland, Falmouth, Scarborough, South Portland and Westbrook;

Commissioner District number 3, consisting of the municipalities of Baldwin, Bridgton, Brunswick, Casco, Freeport, Gorham, Gray, Harpswell, Harrison, Naples, New Gloucester, North Yarmouth, Otisfield, Pownal, Raymond, Sebago, Standish, Windham and Yarmouth.

Each member of the board of commissioners shall be a resident of the commissioner district which he or she represents and shall be elected by the residents of that district.

Sec. 3. Effective date. This Act shall take effect November 2, 1976.

#### STATEMENT OF FACT

This Act divides Cumberland County into 3 commissioner districts, and provides that each county commissioner shall be a resident of the district he or she represents and shall be elected by the voters of that district.

This Act further provides that Cumberland County commissioners shall serve terms of 4 years.