# MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

#### ONE HUNDRED AND SEVENTH LEGISLATURE

#### Legislative Document

No. 474

S. P. 135 In Senate, January 30, 1975 Referred to Committee on State Government. Sent down for concurrence and ordered printed.

HARRY N. STARBRANCH, Secretary

Presented by Senator Curtis of Penobscot.

#### STATE OF MAINE

## IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED SEVENTY-FIVE

AN ACT Relating to the State Soil and Water Conservation Commission.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

12 MRSA, § 51, as last amended by PL 1973, c. 513, § 22, is repealed and the following enacted in place thereof:

### § 51. Membership; seal; rules and regulations

The State Soil and Water Conservation Commission, as heretofore established, shall serve as an agency of the State and shall perform the functions conferred upon it in this chapter. It shall consist of the following 11 members: The Dean of the College of Life Sciences and Agriculture, the Commissioner of Agriculture, the Director of the Bureau of Forestry, the Commissioner of Inland Fisheries and Game and the Commissioner of Marine Resources, who shall serve ex officiis, except that each ex officio member may delegate one of his staff to serve regularly in his absence, and 6 soil and water conservation district supervisors, one of which shall represent each of the following 6 areas: Area 1, composed of St. John Valley, Central Arcostook and Southern Aroostook Soil and Water Conservation Districts: Area 2. composed of Washington and Hancock County Soil and Water Conservation Districts; Area 3, composed of Penobscot, Piscataquis and Somerset County Soil and Water Conservation Districts; Area 4, composed of Kennebec, Knox-Lincoln and Waldo County Soil and Water Conservation Districts; Area 5, composed of Androscoggin Valley, Oxford and Franklin County Soil and Water Conservation Districts; Area 6, composed of Cumberland and York County Soil and Water Conservation Districts. Any district organized after October 1, 1975, shall be included in one of these 6 areas as determined by the State Soil and Water Conservation Commission.

The representative of each such area shall be elected at an annual meeting of the supervisors in the area held at a time specified by the commission. Persons now serving as members of the commission shall continue to serve until the representatives from the 6 named areas are elected and qualified. The commission may invite the Secretary of Agriculture of the United States of America to appoint one person to serve with the above-mentioned members as an advisory member of the commission. The commission shall keep an accurate record of its official actions, shall adopt a seal, which seal shall be judicially noticed, shall have the authority to sue and be sued, and shall perform such acts, execute such contracts and other instruments, hold such public hearings and promulgate such rules and regulations as may be necessary for the execution of its functions under this chapter.

The area representatives first elected from Areas 1 and 4, shall be initially elected for a 1-year term; those from Areas 2 and 5 shall be initially elected for a 2-year term; those from Areas 3 and 6 shall be initially elected for a 3-year term. All subsequent elections shall be for a 3-year term.

#### STATEMENT OF FACT

The State Soil and Water Conservation Commission consists of 11 voting members, 5 of whom are ex officio, 4 of whom are elected by the Soil and Water Conservation Districts in 4 areas of the State, and 2 who are elected by the 4 area representatives.

This legislation would establish 6 areas, as designated on the attached map, each of which would elect one representative to the commission. Further, it would authorize each ex officio member to delegate a member of his staff to represent him at commission meetings.

Since this legislation does not increase the size of the commission, there should be no increase in costs.

