

ONE HUNDRED AND SEVENTH LEGISLATURE

Legislative Document

No. 322

EDWIN H. PERT, Clerk

H. P. 252 House of Representatives, January 22, 1975 Referred to the Committee on Local and County Government. Sent up for concurrence and ordered printed.

Presented by Mr. Peterson of Windham.

STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED SEVENTY-FIVE

AN ACT Creating Cumberland County Commissioner Districts and Decreasing the Annual Salary of Cumberland County Commissioners.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

Sec. 1. 30 MRSA, § 2, 4th ¶, that part which relates to the county commissioners of Cumberland County, as last amended by PL 1973, c. 724, § 3, is further amended to read:

County commissioners, \$5,787 \$2,000;

Sec. 2. 30 MRSA, § 105-P is enacted to read:

§ 105-P. Creation of Cumberland County Commissioner Districts

Cumberland County shall be divided into the following districts:

Commissioner District number 1, consisting of Precincts 1 and 2 of Ward 1, Precincts 1 and 2 of Ward 2, Precinct 1 of Ward 3 and Precincts 1 and 2 of Ward 4 of the municipality of Portland;

Commissioner District number 2, consisting of Precinct 2 of Ward 3, Precincts 1 and 2 of Ward 5, Precincts 1 and 2 of Ward 6 of the municipality of Portland and the municipalities of Falmouth and Cumberland;

Commissioner District number 3, consisting of the municipalities of Casco, Raymond, Gray, New Gloucester, Pownal, North Yarmouth, Yarmouth, Freeport, Brunswick and Harpswell;

Commissioner District number 4, consisting of the municipalities of Bridgton, Harrison, Otisfield, Naples, Sebago, Baldwin, Standish, Gorham, Windham and Westbrook; Commissioner District number 5, consisting of the municipalities of South Portland, Cape Elizabeth and Scarborough.

Each member of the board of commissioners shall be a resident of the commissioner district which he represents and shall be elected by the residents of that district.

Sec. 3. Transition. The transition to the Cumberland County district system shall be made in the following manner: In 1976, a commissioner shall be elected by the qualified electors of the county to represent district 1. In 1978, a commissioner shall be elected by the qualified electors of the county to represent district 2. In 1980, a commissioner shall be elected by the qualified electors of the county to represent district 3. In 1982, a commissioner shall be elected by the qualified electors of the county to represent district 4. In 1984, a commissioner shall be elected by the qualified electors of the county to represent district 5. Thereafter, elections shall continue in a manner so that each district shall at all times be represented on the board of commissioners.

STATEMENT OF FACT

This bill divides Cumberland County into 5 commissioner districts, and provides that each county commissioner shall be a resident of the district he represents and shall be elected by the electors of that district.

This bill also decreases the annual salary of each county commissioner in Cumberland County to \$2,000.