MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

STATE OF MAINE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 107TH LEGISLATURE

(Filing No. H-476)

COMMITTEE AMENDMENT "A" to H.P. 252, L.D. 322, Bill,
"AN ACT Creating Cumberland County Commissioner Districts and
Decreasing the Annual Salary of Cumberland County Commissioners."

inserting in place thereof the following:
'AN ACT to Establish County Commissioner Districts in Cumberland County.'

Amend said Bill by striking out all of the Title and

Further amend said Bill by striking out everything after the enacting clause and inserting in place thereof the following:

'Sec. 1. 30 MRSA §105-R is enacted to read:

§105-R. Creation of Cumberland County Commissioner Districts

Cumberland County shall be divided into the following 3

districts:

Commissioner District number 1, consisting of the municipality of Portland.

Commissioner District number 2, consisting of the municipalities of Cape Elizabeth, Cumberland, Falmouth, Scarborough, South Portland and Westbrook.

Commissioner District number 3, consisting of the municipalities of Baldwin, Bridgton, Brunswick, Casco, Freeport, Gorham, Gray, Harpswell, Harrison, Naples, New Gloucester, North Yarmouth, Otisfield, Pownal, Raymond, Sebago, Standish, Windham and Yarmouth.

Each member of the board of commissioners shall be a resident of the commissioner district for which he is elected and shall be elected by the qualified electors of that district.

Sec. 2. Transition. The transition to the Cumberland County district system shall be made in the following manner: In 1976 a commissioner resident of Commissioner District number 3 shall be elected by the qualified electors of that district. In 1978 a commissioner resident of Commissioner District number 2 shall be elected by the qualified electors of that district. In 1980 a commissioner resident of Commissioner District number 1 shall be elected by the qualified electors of that district. Thereafter, elections shall continue in a manner so that each district shall at all times have a commissioner elected from that district on the board.'

Statement of Fact

This amendment will establish County Commissioner Districts for Cumberland County.

Reported by the Committee on Local and County Government.

Reproduced and distributed under the direction of the Clerk of the House. 5/26/75

(Filing No. H-476)