# MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

#### ONE HUNDRED AND SEVENTH LEGISLATURE

### Legislative Document

No. 68

H. P. 56

House of Representatives, January 2, 1975
Filed January 2, 1975 under Joint Rule 6 by Mr. Birt of East Millinocket.
To be printed and delivered to the House of Representatives of the 107th Legislature.

EDWIN H. PERT, Clerk

Presented by Mr. Birt of East Millinocket.

#### STATE OF MAINE

## IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED SEVENTY-FIVE

AN ACT to Establish County Commissioner Districts in Penobscot County.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

Sec. 1. 30 MRSA, § 105-P is enacted to read:

§ 105-P. Creation of Penobscot County Commissioner Districts

Penobscot County shall be divided in to the following 3 districts:

Commissioner District number 1, consisting of the municipalities of Bangor and Brewer;

Commissioner District number 2, consisting of the municipalities of Clifton, Eddington, Holden, Orrington, Hampden, Newburg, Dixmont, Veazie, Orono, Hermon, Carmel, Etna, Plymouth, Newport, Stetson, Levant, Kenduskeag, Glenburn, Corinna, Exeter, Corinth, Dexter and Garland;

Commissioner District number 3, consisting of the municipalities and unorganized territories of Mt. Chase Plt., Patten, Staceyville, Millinocket, East Millinocket, Medway, Woodville, Mattawamkeag, Kingman Township, Drew Plt., Seboeis Plt., Chester, Winn, Webster Plt., Prentiss Plt., Maxfield, Howland, Enfield, Lincoln, Lee, Springfield, Carroll Plt., Lakeville Plt., Burlington, Lowell, Grand Falls Plt., Greenbush, Greenfield, Milford, Bradley, Old Town, Alton, Lagrange, Edinburg, Argyle, Bradford, Hudson, Charleston, Passadumkeag, Indian Island and the unorganized territory of northern Penobscot County.

Members of the board of commissioners shall be residents of the commissioner district from which they were elected.

Sec. 2. Transition. The transition of the Penobscot County district shall be made in the following manner: In 1976 a commissioner resident of Commissioner District number 2 shall be elected by the qualified electors of that district. In 1978 a commissioner resident of Commissioner District number 3 shall be elected by the qualified electors of that district. In 1980 a commissioner resident of Commissioner District number 1 shall be elected by the qualified electors of that district. Thereafter, elections shall continue in a manner so that each district shall at all times have a commissioner elected from that district on the board.

#### STATEMENT OF FACT

This Act will establish County Commissioner Districts for Penobscot County.