MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

New Draft of: H. P. 1748, L. D. 2207 FIRST SPECIAL SESSION

ONE HUNDRED AND SIXTH LEGISLATURE

Legislative Document

No. 2471

H. P. 1937 House of Representatives, January 31, 1974 Reported by Mr. Curtis from the Committee on State Government and printed under Joint Rules No. 18.

E. LOUISE LINCOLN, Clerk

STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED SEVENTY-FOUR

AN ACT to Revise the Membership of the Land Use Regulation Commission.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

R. S., T. 12, § 683, repealed and replaced. Section 683 of Title 12 of the Revised Statutes, as enacted by chapter 494 of the public laws of 1969, and as amended, is repealed and the following enacted in place thereof:

§ 683. Creation of Maine Land Use Regulation Commission

To carry out the purposes stated in section 681 there is created, within the Department of Conservation, the Maine Land Use Regulation Commission, hereinafter in this chapter called the "commission." The commission is charged with implementing this chapter in all of the unorganized and deorganized areas of the State. The commission shall consist of the Commissioner of the Department of Conservation, ex officio, and 6 public members, none of whom shall be state employees, who shall be appointed by the Governor, with the advice and consent of the Council, for staggered 4-year terms. Among the public members, there shall be 4 who shall be knowledgeable in at least one of each of the following areas: Commerce and industry; fisheries and wildlife; forestry; and conservation.

Of the initial appointees, 2 shall be appointed for one-year terms, 2 shall be appointed for 2-year terms and 2 shall be appointed for 3-year terms. Thereafter, appointees shall be appointed to serve 4-year terms.

STATEMENT OF FACT

This Act provides that the Land Use Regulation Commission shall consist of the Commissioner of the Department of Conservation and 6 public members. It also provides that the public members shall have knowledge in particular areas.