

# ONE HUNDRED AND SIXTH LEGISLATURE

### Legislative Document

## No. 534

H. P. 405 Referred to the Committee on County Government. Sent up for concurrence and ordered printed. E. LOUISE LINCOLN, Clerk

Presented by Mr. Trumbull of Fryeburg.

## STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED SEVENTY-THREE

### AN ACT Creating Oxford County Commissioner Districts.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

Sec. 1. R. S., T. 30, § 105-J, additional. Title 30 of the Revised Statutes is amended by adding a new section 105-J, to read as follows:

§ 105-J. Creation of Oxford County Commissioner Districts

Oxford County shall be divided into the 3 following districts:

Commissioner District number one, consisting of the municipalities and unorganized townships of Albany Township, Andover, Andover West Surplus Township, Bachelders Grant Township, Bethel, Brownfield, Denmark, Fryeburg, Gilead, Grafton Township, Hanover, Hiram, Lovell, Mason Township, Newry, Norway, Porter, Riley Township, Stoneham, Stow, Sweden, Upton, Waterford;

Commissioner District number 2, consisting of the municipalities and unorganized townships of Adamstown Township, Andover North Surplus Township, Bowmantown Township, C Surplus Township, Lincoln Plantation, Lower Cupsuptic Township, Lynchtown Township, Magalloway Plantation, Oxbow Township, Parkerstown Township, Parmachenee Township, Richardson Town Township, Township C, Upper Cupsuptic Township, Byron, Mexico, Roxbury, Rumford, Milton Township;

Commissioner District number 3, consisting of the municipalities of Buckfield, Canton, Dixfield, Greenwood, Hartford, Hebron, Oxford, Paris, Peru, Sumner, West Paris and Woodstock. Members of the board of commissioners shall be residents of the Commissioner District for which they are elected and shall be elected by the residents of that district.

Sec. 2. Transition. The transition of the Oxford County District system shall be made in the following manner: In 1974 a commissioner shall be elected from district one by the qualified electors of that district. In 1976 a commissioner from district 2 shall be elected by the qualified electors of that district. In 1978 a commissioner from district 3 shall be elected by the qualified voters of that district. Thereafter, elections shall continue in a manner so that each district shall have on the board of commissioners a resident of that district elected by the voters of that district.

#### STATEMENT OF FACT

The purpose of this bill is reflected in the title.