

ONE HUNDRED AND SIXTH LEGISLATURE

Legislative Document

No. 378

H. P. 271 House of Representatives, January 24, 1973 Referred to the Committee on County Government. Sent up for concurrence and ordered printed.

E. LOUISE LINCOLN, Clerk

Presented by Mr. Cooney of Sabattus.

STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED SEVENTY-THREE

AN ACT Creating Androscoggin County Commissioner Districts.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

Sec. 1. R. S., T. 30, § 105-I, additional. Title 30 of the Revised Statutes is amended by adding a new section 105-I, to read as follows:

§ 105-I. Creation of Androscoggin County Commissioner Districts

Androscoggin County shall be divided in the following 2 districts:

Commissioner District number i, consisting of the municipalities of Auburn and Lewiston;

Commissioner District number 2, consisting of the municipalities of Durham, Greene, Leeds, Lisbon, Livermore Falls, Sabattus, Wales, Livermore, Turner, Poland, Minot and Mechanic Falls.

Members of the board of commissioners shall be residents of the Commissioner District which they represent.

Sec. 2. Transition. The transition to the Androscoggin County District system shall be made in the following manner:

In 1974, District number 2 shall elect a commissioner. In 1976, District number 1 shall elect a commissioner. In 1978, District number 1 shall elect a commissioner. Thereafter, elections shall continue in a manner so that each district shall at all times be represented on the board of commissioners.

LEGISLATIVE DOCUMENT No. 378

STATEMENT OF FACT

The purpose of this bill is to provide County Commissioner Districts for Androscoggin County to assure that each area will be fairly represented by a commissioner.