

## STATE OF MAINE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 106TH LEGISLATURE

HOUSE AMENDMENT "A" to H. P. 271, L.D. 378, Bill, "AN ACT Creating Androscoggin County Commissioner Districts."

Amend said Bill by striking out everything after the enacting clause and inserting in place thereof the following:

'Sec. 1. R. S., T. 30, § 105-I, additional. Title 30 of the Revised Statutes is amended by adding a new section 105-I, to read as follows:

§ 105-I. Creation of Androscoggin County Commissioner Districts Androscoggin County shall be divided into the following 3

districts:

Commissioner District number 1, consisting of the municipalities of Durham, Greene, Leeds, Lisbon, Livermore, Livermore Falls, Mechanic Falls, Minot, Poland, Sabattus, Turner, Wales and Ward 2 of Lewiston.

Commissioner District number 2, consisting of the municipality of Auburn.

Commissioner District number 3, consisting of Wards 1, 3, 4, 5, 6 and 7 of the municipality of Lewiston.

Members of the board of commissioners shall be residents of the Commissioner District which they represent and shall be elected by the voters of the county.

Sec. 2. Transition. The transition to the Androscoggin County Commissioner District system shall be made in the following manner: In 1974, a commissioner shall be elected from District number 2. In 1976, a commissioner shall be elected from District number 1. In 1978, a commissioner shall be elected from District number 3. Thereafter, elections shall continue in a manner so that each district shall

(Filing no. H-500)

at all times be represented on the board of commissioners.

## Statement of Fact

The purpose of this amendment is to provide county commissioner districts for Androscoggin County to assure that each area will be fairly represented by a commissioner.

Filed by Mr. Pontbriand of Auburn.

Reproduced and distributed under the direction of the Clerk of the House.

6/5/73 (Filing No. H-500)