MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

ONE HUNDRED AND SIXTH LEGISLATURE

Legislative Document

No. 65

H. P. 55 Office of the Clerk of the House Filed December 18, 1972 under Joint Rule 6 by Mr. Finemore of Bridgewater. To be printed and delivered to the House of Representatives of the 106th Legislature.

BERTHA W. JOHNSON, Clerk

Presented by Mr. Finemore of Bridgewater.

STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED SEVENTY-THREE

AN ACT Creating Aroostook County Commissioner Districts.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

Sec. 1. R. S., T. 30, § 105-A, additional. Title 30 of the Revised Statutes is amended by adding a new section 105-A to read as follows:

§ 105-A. Creation of Aroostook County Commissioner Districts

Aroostook County shall be divided into the following 3 districts:

Commissioner District number one consisting of the municipalities and unorganized territory of Amity, Ashland, Bancroft, Benedicta, Blaine, Bridgewater, Castle Hill, Cary Plt., Chapman, Cox Patent, Crystal, Dyer Brook, Dudley, E Plt., Forkstown, Garfield Plt., Glenwood Plt., Hammond Plt., Haynesville, Hersey, Hodgdon, Houlton, Island Falls, Linneus, Littleton, Ludlow, Macwahoc Plt., Mapleton, Mars Hill, Merrill, Monticello, Moro Plt., Molunkus, Nashville Plt., New Limerick, North Yarmouth Academy Grant, Oakfield, Orient, Oxbow Plt., Perham, Portage Lake, Reed Plt., Sherman, Silver Ridge Twp., Smyrna, Squapan, St. Croix, Wade, Washburn, Webbertown, Westfield, Weston, Woodland, Upper Molunkus, TAR 2, TCR 2, TDR 2, T1R5, 2R4, 3R3, 3R4, 4R3, 7R5, 8R3, 8R5, 9R3, 9R4, 9R5, 9R7, 9R8, 10R3, 10R6, 10R7, 10R8, 11R4, 11R7, 11R8, 11R9, 11R10, 11R11, 11R12, 11R13, 11R14, 11R15, 11R16, 11R17, 12R7, 12R8, 12R9, 12R10, 12R11, 12R12, 12R13, 12R14, 12R15, 12R16, 12R17, 13R5, 13R7, 13R8, 13R9, 13R10, 13R11, 13R12, 13R13, 13R14, 13R15, 13R16, 14R5, 14R6, 14R7, 14R8, 14R9, 14R10, 14R11, 14R12, 14R13, 14R14, 14R15, 14R16, 15R5, 15R6, 15R8, 15R9, 15R10, 15R11. 15R12, 15R13, 15R14, 15R15, 16R8, 16R9, 16R12, 16R13, 16R14, 17R12, 17R13, 17R14, 18R10, 18R11, 18R12, 18R13, 19R11, 19R12, 20R11, 20R12 WELS

Commissioner District number 2 consisting of the municipalities and unorganized territory of Caribou, Caswell Plt., Cyr Plt., Easton, Fort Fairfield, Hamlin Plt., Masardis, New Sweden, Presque Isle, Stockholm, Westmanland Plt., 16R4 WELS.

Commissioner District number 3 consisting of the municipalities and unorganized territory of Allagash Plt., Connor Plt., Eagle Lake, Fort Kent, Frenchville, Grand Isle, Limestone, Madawaska, New Canada Plt., St. Agatha, St. Francis, St. John Plt., Van Buren, Wallagrass Plt., Winterville Plt., T16R5, 16R6, 17R3, 17R4, 17R5 WELS

Members of the board of commissioners shall be residents of the commissioner district for which they are elected and shall be elected at large by the qualified voters of the county.

Sec. 2. Transition. The transition of the Aroostook County district system shall be made in the following manner: In 1974 a commissioner resident in district 3 shall be elected by the qualified electors of the county. In 1976 a commissioner resident in district 2 shall be elected by the qualified electors of the county. In 1978 a commissioner resident in district one shall be elected by the qualified electors of the county. Thereafter elections shall continue in a manner so that each district shall have on the board of commissioners a resident elected by the county at large.

STATEMENT OF FACT

The purpose of the bill is reflected in the title.