MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

STATE OF MAINE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 106TH LEGISLATURE

HOUSE AMENDMENT "A" to H.P. 55, L.D. 65, Bill, "AN ACT Creating Aroostook County Commissioner Districts."

Amend said Bill by striking out everything after the amending clause and inserting in place thereof the following:

'§ 105-A. Creation of Aroostook County Commissioner Districts

Aroostook County shall be divided into the following 3 districts:

Commissioner District number one consisting of the municipalities and unorganized territories of Amity, Bancroft, Benedicta, Blaine, Bridgewater, Castle Hill, Cary Plt., Chapman, Cox Patent, Crystal, Dyer Brook, Dudley, E Plt., Hammond Plt., Haynesville, Hersey, Hodgdon, Houlton, Island Falls, Linneus, Littleton, Ludlow, Macwahoc Plt., Mapleton, Mars Hill, Merrill, Monticello, Moro Flt., Molunkus, New Limerick, Oakfield, Orient, Reed Plt., Sherman, Smyrna, Westfield, Weston, Silver Ridge Twp., TAR2, TAR5 (Molunkus), TCR2, TDR2, T1R4 (North Yarmouth Academy Grant), T1R4 (Upper Molunkus), 1R5, 2R4, 3R2, 3R3, 3R4, 4R3, 7R3, 7R4 (Webbertown), 7R5, 8R3, 8R4 (St. Croix), 9R4, 8R5, 9R3,/9R5, 10R3, 10R4 (Squapan), 11R4 WELS.

Commissioner District number 2 consisting of the municipalities and unorganized territories of Allagash Plt., Ashland, Caribou, Eagle Lake, Garfield Plt., Masardis, Nashville Plt., New Canada Plt., Oxbow Plt., Perham, Portage Lake, Presque Isle, St. Francis Plt., St. John Plt., Wade, Wallagrass Plt., Washburn, Westmanland Plt., Winterville Plt., 9R7, 9R8, 10R6, 10R7, 10R8, 11R7, 11R8, 11R9, 11R10, 11R11.

11R12, 11R13, 11R14, 11R15, 11R16, 11R17, 12R7, 12R8, 12R9, 12R10, 12R11, 12R12, 12R13, 12R14, 12R15, 12R16, 12R17, 13R5, 13R7, 13R8, 13R9, 13R10, 13R11, 13R12, 13R13, 13R14, 13R15, 13R16, 14R5, 14R6,

(Filey 1 10.4-278)

14R7, 14R8, 14R9, 14R10, 14R11, 14R12, 14R13, 14R14, 14R15, 14R16, 15R5, 15R6, 15R8, 15R9, 15R10, 15R11, 15R12, 15R13, 15R14, 15R15, 16R4, 16R5, 16R6, 16R8, 16R9, 16R12, 16R13, 16R14, 17R3, 17R4, 17R5, 17R12, 17R13, 17R14, 18R10, 18R11, 18R12, 18R13, 19R11, 19R12, 20R11, 20R12 WELS

Commissioner District number 3 consisting of the municipalities and unorganized territories of Caswell Plt., Connor, Cyr Plt., Fort Kent, Frenchville, Grand Isle, Hamlin Plt., Limestone, Madawaska, New Sweden, St. Agatha, Stockholm, Van Buren and Woodland.

Sec. 2. Transition. The transition of the Aroostook County district system shall be made in the following manner: In 1978 a commissioner resident of district 3 shall be elected by the qualified electors of that district. In 1974 a commissioner resident of district 2 shall be elected by the qualified electors of that district. In 1975 a commissioner resident of district one shall be elected by the qualified electors of that district.

Statement of Fact

The purpose of this amendment is to revise the districts proposed by L. D. 65.

Filed by Mr. Martin of Eagle Lake.

Reproduced and distributed under the direction of the Clerk of the House.

4/25/73